ADYPU: what it is and where it stands
ADYPU is a private state university established under a 2015 Maharashtra Government Act, with no published NAAC grade and no NIRF ranking.
Ajeenkya D Y Patil University (ADYPU) is a private state university in Pune, established under the Maharashtra Government Act of 2015. Its UGC letter of establishment (2015), the ADYPU Act (2015) and its Section 2(f) UGC recognition document are all published on the university's own Mandatory Disclosures page โ a page worth opening once before you apply, because it is also where the official fee notices live.
The campus is a stated 100 acres at D Y Patil Knowledge City, Charholi Budruk via Lohegaon, on Pune's north-eastern edge near the airport belt. Engineering runs through the School of Engineering, which states a faculty strength of more than 200 (ADYPU SoE site) and lists B.Tech programmes across computer science variants, AI and data science, robotics and automation, biomedical engineering, biotechnology, mechanical, civil, electronics streams and defence technology.
Three verification notes. ADYPU does not appear in the NIRF 2025 Engineering or University rankings. No NAAC grade is published on its disclosures page โ the NAAC entry there currently opens a placeholder document. The university announced a QS I-GAUGE Diamond rating on its official news page in July 2026.
Finally, do not confuse ADYPU with Dr. D. Y. Patil Vidyapeeth (Pimpri), D. Y. Patil College of Engineering (Akurdi), DYPCOEI (Talegaon/Ambi) or DYPIU (Akurdi) โ these are separate institutions under different trusts, with different admission systems and fees.
Admission route: how you actually get a seat
ADYPU sits outside MHT-CET CAP counselling โ every seat is filled through the university's own ACET-plus-interview process.
ADYPU sits outside MHT-CET CAP counselling. Every engineering seat is filled through the university's own centralised process, published on the School of Engineering site for the AY2026-27 cycle:
- Stage one โ register online and appear for ACET, the ADYPU Common Entrance Test. Shortlisting is based on ACET performance; the university states an academic counsellor contacts shortlisted candidates within three working days to schedule the next stage.
- Stage two โ a counselling session and personal interview on campus. Candidates bring a Statement of Purpose and certificates of extracurricular activities. Attendance is mandatory for ACET qualifiers, and selection rests on cumulative performance across both stages.
- Offer and acceptance โ the decision is notified after the interview; a favourable decision brings an offer letter, and admission is confirmed by signing the Acceptance of Admission Form, which the university treats as a binding contract.
Published B.Tech eligibility (School of Engineering eligibility page, matching the terms printed on the official Fee Notice): 10+2, A Level, IB or equivalent with Physics and Mathematics compulsory plus one of Chemistry, Biotechnology, Biology, Computer Science, Information Technology, Informatics Practices, Agriculture, Engineering Graphics, Business Studies or a technical vocational subject, with at least 45% marks (40% for reserved-category and PwD candidates from Maharashtra). A Diploma in Engineering and Technology with the same percentage requirement is the alternative entry route.
The official pages we verified describe only ACET plus interview; if you want a JEE Main or MHT-CET score considered, confirm that in writing with the admissions office. The university's own disclaimer states admissions are strictly merit-based and warns against paying any capitation fee.
Fees (2026-27) โ the full School of Engineering table
ADYPU's own signed Fee Notice 2026-27 lists tuition for all 19 B.Tech specialisations, each payable in two equal instalments.
ADYPU sets its own fees โ it is not governed by Maharashtra's Fee Regulating Authority, which covers CAP-side colleges. The figures below are read directly from the university's own signed notice (Ref. ADYPU/RO/Fee Notice/2026/1219(1), dated 11 February 2026), not estimated or copied from an aggregator.
| Programme | Duration | Annual tuition | 1st instalment (by 20 Jul 2026) | 2nd instalment (by 5 Jan 2027) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech for Working Professional (CSE / AI-DS / Civil / Mechanical / Robotics / E&TC) | 4 yrs | โน1,00,000 | โน50,000 | โน50,000 |
| B.Tech Civil Engineering | 4 yrs | โน1,50,000 | โน75,000 | โน75,000 |
| B.Tech Mechanical Engineering (Automobile / 3D Printing & Design) | 4 yrs | โน1,50,000 | โน75,000 | โน75,000 |
| B.Tech Biomedical Engineering | 4 yrs | โน1,50,000 | โน75,000 | โน75,000 |
| B.Tech Robotics and Automation Engineering | 4 yrs | โน1,50,000 | โน75,000 | โน75,000 |
| B.Tech Electronics and Computer Engineering | 4 yrs | โน1,50,000 | โน75,000 | โน75,000 |
| B.Tech in Defence Technology (Generic) | 4 yrs | โน2,00,000 | โน1,00,000 | โน1,00,000 |
| B.Tech Defence Technology (AI-Driven Defence & Cyber Systems/Security) | 4 yrs | โน2,00,000 | โน1,00,000 | โน1,00,000 |
| B.Tech Defence Technology (Communication Systems & IoT) | 4 yrs | โน2,00,000 | โน1,00,000 | โน1,00,000 |
| B.Tech Biotechnology (Medical Biotech / Food Tech / Bioinformatics) | 4 yrs | โน2,50,000 | โน1,25,000 | โน1,25,000 |
| B.Tech Smart and Sustainable Energy | 4 yrs | โน2,50,000 | โน1,25,000 | โน1,25,000 |
| B.Tech Artificial Intelligence and Data Science | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech Computer Science (Cyber Security or Software Engineering) | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech CSE (Cyber Security and Digital Forensics) | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech Aeronautical Engineering | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech Avionics Engineering | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech Aerospace | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech Information Technology (Data Science) | 4 yrs | โน3,00,000 | โน1,50,000 | โน1,50,000 |
| B.Tech CSE (Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning) | 4 yrs | โน3,12,500 | โน1,56,250 | โน1,56,250 |
| B.Tech CSE Spl. in AI-Fintech | 4 yrs | โน3,25,000 | โน1,62,500 | โน1,62,500 |
| B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering (Data Science) | 4 yrs | โน3,50,000 | โน1,75,000 | โน1,75,000 |
| Integrated Aerospace Engineering (B.Tech + M.Tech) | 5 yrs | โน3,50,000 | โน1,75,000 | โน1,75,000 |
| Integrated Defence Technology (B.Tech + M.Tech) | 5 yrs | โน3,50,000 | โน1,75,000 | โน1,75,000 |
Every row self-checks: the two instalments printed against each programme sum exactly to the annual tuition figure in the same row โ the same self-verification pattern this site prefers wherever the source document allows it.
Reserved-category concessions and merit scholarships are not itemised on this notice; ADYPU is not bound by Maharashtra's MahADBT state fee-waiver schemes the way a CAP college is, so do not assume one applies. Ask the admissions office in writing for the current scholarship criteria before you budget.
One-time and recurring charges beyond tuition
The same signed notice lists a one-time registration fee, a per-semester exam fee, and one-time convocation, alumni and application fees.
| Fee head | Amount | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Registration Fee | โน10,000 | One-time, first year (including lateral entry admissions) |
| Examination Fee | โน3,000 | Per semester, every year |
| Convocation Fee | โน2,500 | One-time, final year of graduation |
| Alumni Association Fee | โน2,500 | One-time, final year of graduation |
| Application Fee for Admission | โน1,500 | One-time, at the time of admission, all programmes |
These charges are separate from, and additional to, the annual tuition โ an applicant budgeting only the tuition line will understate the actual first-year cost by roughly โน15,000 (registration + one semester's exam fee + application fee).
Cutoff trends: how to read them
There is no ADYPU cutoff list โ seats are filled through ACET plus interview on a rolling basis, not a ranked merit list.
There is no ADYPU cutoff list, and that is not an omission on our part โ it is how this admission is designed. Cutoffs exist where a ranked external exam allots seats in public rounds, the way MHT-CET CAP does for COEP or PICT. ADYPU fills seats through ACET plus a personal interview on a rolling basis, so no closing-rank PDF exists for any branch โ not on the university's site, not anywhere. Any page showing you an ADYPU cutoff is estimating, not reporting.
- Read merit here as three things together: your ACET performance, the interview, and seat availability in your exact specialisation on the day you complete both stages.
- Sought-after specialisations can fill earlier than others in a rolling process, so the practical question is not what score you need โ it is whether your branch still has seats in the current intake. Ask admissions that question directly.
- Ask for the ACET format and syllabus for the current cycle before you book a test slot, so you are not preparing from stale third-party descriptions.
- If you also hold a JEE Main or MHT-CET score, ask in writing whether it is considered during shortlisting; the official pages we verified do not state this either way.
Treat the absence of a cutoff as a due-diligence signal: with no rank anchor, the interview stage and your own cost verification carry more of the decision weight.
Placements: what is verifiable
ADYPU publishes university-wide headline placement numbers with no median and no NIRF cross-check โ read the labels carefully.
What the university itself publishes for 2025: 1,100+ total job offers, 500+ internships, a highest package of 55 LPA โ printed with an asterisk whose qualifying terms are not stated โ and an Average Package (Top Offers) of 13-14 LPA. Read that label carefully: it is the average of top offers, not the average across all placed students, and no median figure is published at all. These are university-wide numbers across all schools, not the School of Engineering alone, and no branch-wise table exists on the official site.
Recruiters named on official pages: Tech Mahindra, Deloitte, HSBC, Tata Technologies, Cohesity, Entrata, TVS Lucas, Syneos Health, Magic Software, Neeyamo, Indovance, TraceLink and GKN Aerospace on the university placements page (2025); the School of Engineering page separately names KPIT, Accenture, Bosch, Royal Enfield and Tata Consultancy Services among engineering recruiters.
The independent cross-check that exists for many colleges โ an NIRF submission with audited median salaries โ is not available here, because ADYPU does not appear in the NIRF 2025 rankings. So before deciding on placement grounds, ask the university's placement office for the School of Engineering's own report for the latest batch: students eligible, students placed, median salary, and the branch-wise split. A placement cell that has those numbers will share them; treat reluctance as information in itself.
Hostel & campus life
ADYPU offers on-campus hostel accommodation, but no fee figure is published on the official site as of this capture.
The campus-life section of the official site lists an on-campus hostel alongside a cafeteria, health centre, sports facility centre, indoor sports arena, amphitheatre, main auditorium, IT centre, smart classrooms, a biodiversity park and open study spaces โ consistent with a single self-contained 100-acre campus.
Two practical, verified details. The university publishes a dedicated hostel contact number in its site footer (+91-8087778799), separate from the admissions lines. And the university's Fees Refund Policy notification, published on the same Mandatory Disclosures page as the fee notices, is worth reading before you pay any deposit โ keep the receipt trail.
Hostel and mess charges are not published anywhere on the official site as of 20 August 2026. They are not part of the Fee Notice 2026-27, and hostel tariffs at private universities typically vary by room type. Ask the hostel office for the written rate card โ room-wise tariff, mess charges, security deposit and refund terms โ before you pay tuition, so the full annual cost sits on one sheet.
One location note: Charholi via Lohegaon is on Pune's north-eastern edge, well away from the city's central colleges belt. If you are considering day-scholar life, test the actual commute once at peak hour before deciding against the hostel.
Common mistakes ADYPU applicants make
Most errors come from budgeting tuition alone, or confusing ADYPU with a different "DY Patil" institution.
| The mistake | Why it misleads | What to read instead |
|---|---|---|
| Budgeting only the annual tuition figure | Registration, exam, application, convocation and alumni fees add roughly โน15,000 in year one alone, on top of tuition. | The one-time and recurring charges table above |
| Confusing ADYPU with DY Patil Pimpri, Akurdi, DYPCOEI (Talegaon) or DYPIU | Five separate institutions share the "DY Patil" family name, each with different trusts, admission systems and fees. | The institute-identity section above |
| Assuming a Maharashtra state fee waiver (SC/ST/OBC/EWS) applies | ADYPU is outside CAP and its own fee notice states no such concession. | The Fees section above, and written confirmation from admissions |
| Treating the "13-14 LPA average" as a class-wide figure | The university's own label is "Average Package (Top Offers)" โ not an average across all placed students. | The Placements section above |
How ADYPU compares
ADYPU trades a published cutoff and regulated fee for a rolling, interview-based admission and a much higher tuition tier.
Compare by decision axis, not by brochure:
- Admission route. COEP Pune, VJTI Mumbai and PICT Pune allot seats through MHT-CET CAP with rank-anchored, published cutoffs; ADYPU uses its own ACET plus interview. If your entrance rank is strong, the CAP trio lets the rank do the work; if the rank is weak but your profile and finances are workable, ADYPU's route is the more accessible door.
- Fee visibility. The CAP colleges carry FRA-approved, publicly listed fees typically under โน1,50,000/year; ADYPU's own signed notice puts its 19 B.Tech specialisations between โน1,00,000 and โน3,50,000/year.
- Placement evidence. PICT Pune and COEP Pune outcomes can be checked against years of branch-wise data and NIRF disclosures; ADYPU publishes headline offer counts and top-offer averages without a median or branch split, so the burden of verification is on you.
- Specialisation breadth. ADYPU's defence technology, AI-fintech and robotics tracks have no direct equivalent at COEP or VJTI, whose strength is the conventional branch structure with long industry recognition. Decide whether a niche title or a proven core degree serves your plan better.
- Middle path. VIT Pune sits between the two models โ a private autonomous institute, but inside CAP with published cutoffs โ and is the natural comparison if you want private-college facilities with a transparent, rank-based entry.
Contact & address
Ajeenkya D Y Patil University, D Y Patil Knowledge City, Charholi Bk. Via Lohegaon, Pune - 411081, Maharashtra, India
Frequently asked questions
Is ADYPU part of Maharashtra CAP counselling?
No. As a private state university, ADYPU fills engineering seats through its own centralized process โ ACET plus a personal interview โ not through the State CET Cell's CAP rounds. That is why no CAP cutoff list exists for it. The fee-regulation and counselling protections that come with CAP do not apply here, so confirm every commercial term directly with the admissions office in writing.
What is the exact admission route for B.Tech at ADYPU?
Two stages, published on the official site: register online and appear for ACET, the ADYPU Common Entrance Test; shortlisted candidates are then called to campus for a counselling session and personal interview, bringing a Statement of Purpose and any extracurricular certificates. Selection is based on cumulative performance across both stages, followed by an offer letter and a signed Acceptance of Admission Form.
What does ADYPU's B.Tech fee actually cost per year?
Per the university's own signed Fee Notice 2026-27, tuition ranges from โน1,00,000/year (B.Tech for Working Professionals) to โน3,50,000/year (Data Science tracks and the integrated 5-year Aerospace/Defence Technology programmes), each split into two equal instalments. Add roughly โน15,000 in year-one registration, exam and application fees on top.
What documents should I keep ready for ADYPU admission?
The official process asks candidates invited to campus to bring a Statement of Purpose and certificates of extracurricular activities. Beyond that, keep your 10+2, Diploma or B.Sc. marksheets and identity documents ready, since eligibility is checked on marks in Physics, Mathematics and one optional subject. Ask the admissions office for the complete current checklist in writing before travelling to campus.
How does hostel allotment work at ADYPU?
On-campus hostel accommodation is listed among ADYPU's facilities, with a dedicated hostel contact number published in the official site footer, separate from admissions. Room categories, tariffs and deposits are not published on the official Fee Notice or campus-life pages, so request the written rate card and the allotment procedure from the hostel office when you accept admission.
Can I change my branch or specialisation after first year at ADYPU?
ADYPU does not publish a branch-change policy on its public pages, so do not assume one exists. If a specific specialisation matters to you, get the transfer rules โ eligibility, timing, seat availability and any fee implications โ in writing from the Registrar or admissions office before you accept the offer, and keep that correspondence.
Does a state category (SC/ST/OBC/EWS) fee waiver apply at ADYPU?
The official Fee Notice 2026-27 does not state any category-wise concession. As a private university outside CAP, ADYPU is not bound by Maharashtra's MahADBT state fee-waiver schemes the way a CAP college is. The university does list eleven named scholarship schemes on its School of Engineering page, but amounts and eligibility criteria are not published โ get current terms in writing before factoring any waiver into your budget.
What is ADYPU's placement record?
The university's own 2025 placements page states 1,100+ total job offers, 500+ internships, a highest package of 55 LPA (asterisked, terms unstated) and an average of top offers of 13-14 LPA โ not a class-wide average. No median is published, and ADYPU does not appear in NIRF 2025, so there is no independently audited figure to cross-check these claims against.
Extended admission FAQs
Why does ADYPU not have a published cutoff percentile?
Because it does not allot seats through a ranked merit list. Cutoffs exist where a central authority like the State CET Cell publishes round-wise closing ranks, the way it does for CAP colleges. ADYPU's own ACET-plus-interview process is rolling and individually assessed, so no closing-rank document exists for any branch, on the official site or anywhere else.
How much does a full 4-year B.Tech cost at ADYPU?
It depends entirely on the specialisation: at โน1,50,000/year (e.g. Civil or Mechanical Engineering) four years of tuition alone totals โน6,00,000; at โน3,50,000/year (e.g. the Data Science B.Tech) it totals โน14,00,000. Add roughly โน27,000 in exam fees across four years (โน3,000 ร 2 semesters ร 4 years, plus โน5,000 in one-time convocation and alumni fees) and the โน10,000 registration and โน1,500 application fees paid once. This is a simple multiplication of the officially published per-year rate, not a college-stated four-year total.
Does ADYPU's fee include hostel and mess?
No. The tuition figures in the Fee Notice 2026-27 cover academic fees only. Hostel and mess charges are separate and are not published anywhere on the official site as of this capture โ confirm the current rate card directly with the hostel office before budgeting.
What is the ADYPU Common Entrance Test (ACET)?
ACET is ADYPU's own entrance test, the first stage of its two-stage admission process. Shortlisting for the second stage โ a mandatory campus interview โ is based on ACET performance. The official pages we verified do not state whether an external score such as JEE Main or MHT-CET can substitute for ACET; confirm this in writing with admissions if you already hold one of those scores.
Is ADYPU's 55 LPA highest package figure reliable?
It is the figure the university itself publishes, but it carries an asterisk on the official page whose qualifying terms (which programme, which year, one-time or typical) are not stated. Treat it as a single top outcome, not a representative figure โ the same page's own "Average Package (Top Offers)" of 13-14 LPA is explicitly not a class-wide average either.
Why doesn't ADYPU appear in NIRF rankings?
This page can only confirm the fact, not the reason: as of the 2025 NIRF cycle, no ADYPU submission was found under either Engineering or University categories on nirfindia.org. NIRF participation is voluntary for private universities, so its absence does not by itself indicate a quality judgement โ but it does mean there is no independently audited placement or academic-quality figure available for ADYPU, unlike institutions that do submit.
How do I verify the ADYPU fee I've been quoted matches the official notice?
Compare it directly against the Fee Notice 2026-27 table on this page, which was read from the university's own signed document (Ref. ADYPU/RO/Fee Notice/2026/1219(1), dated 11 February 2026). If a quote doesn't match your specific specialisation's row, or includes charges not itemised in that notice, ask the admissions office to point to the specific official document that justifies the difference before you pay.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
An earlier override draft carried fabricated fee ranges and packages that did not match ADYPU's own published figures, and was flagged noindex on 2026-08-17. It has been replaced with the university's own well-sourced base research plus the actual Fee Notice 2026-27, read directly from the official scanned PDF page by page. Hostel fees remain a stated gap because the university has not published them, not because the figure was overlooked.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.