Shiv Nadar: what it is and where it stands
SNU is an Institution of Eminence Deemed University on a fully residential 286-acre campus, NIRF-ranked as a university but not published in the Engineering rank bands.
Shiv Nadar University sits on a 286-acre, fully residential campus in Gautam Buddha Nagar district, on the Greater Noida side of Delhi NCR. It was established in 2011 through the Shiv Nadar University Act 2011 (Act No. 12 of 2011) of the Uttar Pradesh legislature and is approved under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act โ both statements taken from the university's own UGC-recognition disclosure page. The Ministry of Education has additionally granted it the status of Institution of Eminence Deemed to be University, which is why official material now uses the name Shiv Nadar Institution of Eminence (SNIoE). The same disclosure page records a NAAC 'A' grade; it does not state the validity period, so confirm the current accreditation cycle on the NAAC website if that matters to your decision.
In NIRF 2025, Shiv Nadar University is ranked 57 in the University category. It does not appear in the Engineering category's published rank bands up to 150 โ worth knowing, because this page is about its B.Tech. The School of Engineering admits five B.Tech branches: Computer Science & Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical, Chemical and Civil Engineering. The NIRF 2025 submission records a sanctioned UG four-year intake of 705 for 2023-24, up from 605 in each of the three years before it.
Admission route: how you actually get a seat
SNU is entirely outside JoSAA/CSAB/state counselling โ the university fills seats itself, phase by phase, on its own portal.
Shiv Nadar does not take part in JoSAA, CSAB or Uttar Pradesh state counselling. There are no CAP rounds and no separate management-quota channel: every seat is filled directly by the university through its application portal, snuadmissions.com. That single fact changes your timeline โ you deal with SNU's own phases, not a counselling authority's rounds.
The university describes selection as a merit-based composite: Class XII board performance combined with a test score โ JEE (Main), the university's own SNUSAT plus APT, or SAT/ACT โ and, for some applicants, an interview conducted by faculty. The B.Tech Admission 2026 page also lists CUET UG, with an interview. SNUSAT for the 2026 cycle ran in three phases: Phase 1 (apply by 31 December 2025, test on 11 January 2026), Phase 2 (apply by 31 January 2026, test on 8 February 2026) and Phase 3 (apply by 31 March 2026, test on 12 April 2026). Earlier phases face the widest branch availability; by Phase 3, high-demand branches may already be substantially offered out.
Merit money rides on the same exams: SNU's admissions page states that JEE (Main) scorers above the 98th percentile may be eligible for a 100% tuition fee waiver, and those between the 95th and 98th percentile may be considered for a 50% waiver. Department-wise selection thresholds are not published in advance โ offers go out phase by phase, which is why the phase you enter matters.
Fees: what is officially published
The last openly-published fee PDF is for the 2023 batch โ no verified current-year figure exists from an official source.
The last undergraduate fee structure SNU published as an open PDF is for the first-year batch of 2023; current-year figures are shared through the admission portal, not the open website. in the 2023 PDF, B.Tech tuition was โน3,50,000-โน4,00,000 a year plus โน1,75,840 in living expenses, with a printed clause allowing 5-8% annual revision.
| Component | Batch of 2023 |
|---|---|
| B.Tech Computer Science & Engineering tuition, per year | โน4,00,000 |
| B.Tech Mechanical / Chemical / Civil / Electrical & Computer tuition, per year | โน3,50,000 |
| Living expenses (twin-sharing non-AC hostel + mess + laundry), per year | โน1,75,840 |
| Admission fee (one-time, non-refundable) | โน25,000 |
| Security deposit (one-time, refundable) | โน25,000 |
This page deliberately does not print a four-year total: the 2023 PDF's own footnote says tuition, hostel, mess and laundry "may be revised annually by 5-8%", so any multiplied total would be an invented number.
Checked again for this rebuild (2026-08-20): no verified AY2026-27 fee figure from an official SNU document could be confirmed. Aggregator sites (Collegedunia, Shiksha and similar) circulate current-year figures, but none could be traced to an official SNU PDF or portal page, so this page does not repeat them. The current schedule lives inside the snuadmissions.com portal and your offer letter โ ask admissions for the latest fee PDF in writing before you pay the admission fee, and check which waiver (if any) is named in the offer itself.
Cutoff trends: how to read them
There is no official SNU cutoff โ the only public percentile markers are the 95th/98th percentile scholarship-waiver bands.
There is no official cutoff PDF to link here, because there is no counselling authority. Unlike MHT-CET or JoSAA colleges, SNU does not publish a branch-by-category-by-round cutoff table after each cycle; department-wise thresholds are internal, and offers go out phase by phase. No branch-wise JEE Main percentile cutoffs have been published by SNU for any recent cycle verified on its site.
What you can read honestly instead:
- The scholarship bands are the only public percentile markers SNU commits to โ above the 98th percentile in JEE (Main) for 100% tuition-waiver eligibility, 95th-98th for 50% consideration. They tell you where the strongest applicants in the pool sit.
- Computer Science carried the highest B.Tech tuition of the five branches in the 2023 fee PDF, and it is the branch that fills first in essentially every private-university cycle โ treat it as the most competitive seat.
- The phase you apply in is the one lever fully in your control. Phase 1 applicants are considered while every branch is still open.
If a consultant quotes you a precise "SNU cutoff", ask which official document it comes from. There isn't one โ and a number nobody can source is not a number you should plan an admission around.
Placements: what is verifiable
SNU's own NIRF filing shows a rising university-wide median โ but it covers B.Tech and B.Sc (Research) together, not B.Tech alone.
SNU's NIRF 2025 submission shows the UG four-year median salary rising from โน8,03,000 (2021-22) to โน12,62,000 (2023-24), with 408 of 687 on-time graduates placed in the latest reported year (NIRF 2025, Shiv Nadar University submission IR-O-U-0642).
| Graduating year | Graduated in minimum time | Students placed | Median salary (NIRF) | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 294 | 170 | โน8,03,000 | 68 |
| 2022-23 | 444 | 271 | โน12,08,000 | 113 |
| 2023-24 | 687 | 408 | โน12,62,000 | 142 |
Read the table carefully. NIRF's UG four-year bucket covers B.Tech together with SNU's four-year B.Sc (Research) programmes, so it is university-wide, not branch-wise. Adding placed (408) and higher studies (142) for 2023-24 still leaves about one in five on-time graduates accounted for by neither โ our arithmetic on the university's own figures, not a number it publishes, and a fair question to put to it.
SNU's own Career Development page claims 93% placement, an average of โน9.29 lakh and a maximum of โน58.09 lakh with 450+ employment partners, but attaches no year to those numbers. A placement post on snu.edu.in for the 2025 cycle cites an average of โน9.88 LPA, a median of โน8.45 LPA, a B.Tech average of โน10.82 LPA and 174 recruiters. Branch-wise medians are not published anywhere this page could verify, checked again for this rebuild.
Hostel & campus life
Residential housing is mandatory for undergraduates; the last published living-expense figure is from the 2023 batch.
Shiv Nadar is a fully residential university: undergraduate admission comes with on-campus housing, and the 286-acre campus is built to be lived on, not commuted to. SNU's own "Life at Shiv Nadar" page lists a fully equipped medical centre, an indoor sports complex, a central library, a student recreation centre, cafes, grocery stores, a post office and an in-house bank with ATMs on campus.
On cost, the only openly published figures remain the 2023 ones: living expenses of โน1,75,840 per year covering hostel, mess and laundry for a twin-sharing non-AC room, with the PDF's footnote stating that AC or single rooms are "charged additionally" (2023). Current hostel and mess tariffs, and the AC/non-AC price split, could not be confirmed from an official source, checked again for this rebuild (2026-08-20) โ they are communicated through the admission portal and offer documents, so ask for the current residence tariff card in writing.
Factor the residential model into your budget honestly: unlike a city commuter college, there is no day-scholar route to trim costs, and living expenses recur every year of the four. The campus location is Gautam Buddha Nagar district โ Delhi NCR access, but a self-contained campus rather than an urban neighbourhood.
How Shiv Nadar compares
SNU trades a published cutoff for multiple test routes and a research-university residential campus.
The comparison that matters is by decision axis, not by brand.
- On total money out of pocket: COEP Pune and VJTI Mumbai are government-fee colleges reached through MHT-CET counselling โ over four years the cost gap against any private residential university is large and structural. Shiv Nadar's counter-offer is a research-university campus and a waiver ladder for high JEE percentiles; the government colleges' counter is simply the fee itself.
- On admission certainty: PICT Pune, SPIT Mumbai and VIT Pune admit through state CET percentiles with published cutoff lists โ you can predict your seat before you apply. Shiv Nadar's phase-based, interview-inclusive process is more discretionary; you trade a published cutoff for multiple test routes (SNUSAT, SAT, JEE) and earlier-phase advantage.
- On campus model: PICT and SPIT are compact urban commuter campuses in Pune and Mumbai's job markets; Shiv Nadar is a 286-acre residential campus where the university is the town. Which four-year life you want is a genuine axis, not a footnote.
- On breadth: as a multidisciplinary university with NIRF University-category rank 57 (2025), Shiv Nadar suits students who may drift toward research or non-engineering minors โ something a pure engineering college does not offer.
Contact & address
Shiv Nadar IoE, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Uttar Pradesh - 201314
Frequently asked questions
Can I get admission to Shiv Nadar B.Tech without a JEE Main score?
Yes. SNU fills B.Tech seats through its own SNUSAT plus APT, and also accepts SAT and ACT scores; its 2026 admission page additionally lists CUET UG with an interview. Selection is a composite of Class XII performance and the test score, sometimes with a faculty interview. JEE Main matters most if you want the percentile-linked tuition waivers.
How many admission phases does SNU run, and does applying early matter?
For the 2026 intake, SNUSAT ran in three phases โ applications closing 31 December 2025, 31 January 2026 and 31 March 2026, with tests roughly a fortnight after each deadline. Offers are made phase by phase against internal thresholds, so earlier applicants are considered while every branch is still open. If Computer Science is the target, treat Phase 1 as the real deadline.
What is SNU's B.Tech fee for the current year?
The last openly-published fee PDF (2023 batch) showed tuition at โน3,50,000-4,00,000/year plus โน1,75,840/year in living expenses, with a 5-8% annual revision clause. No verified current-year (AY2026-27) figure from an official SNU document could be confirmed โ request the current fee PDF from admissions in writing before paying anything.
What documents should I keep ready for the application and admission?
Keep Class X and XII marksheets, your test scorecard (JEE Main, SNUSAT, SAT or ACT), a photo ID and passport-size photographs ready at application; transfer and migration certificates are typically requested at enrolment. The authoritative checklist is the one inside the snuadmissions.com portal for your cycle โ verify it there rather than trusting any third-party list.
Is hostel accommodation guaranteed, and how is it allotted?
SNU describes its 286-acre campus as fully residential, and undergraduate admission comes with on-campus housing. The last openly published fee PDF (batch of 2023) priced living expenses at โน1,75,840 a year for a twin-sharing non-AC room including mess and laundry, with AC or single rooms charged additionally. Confirm the current room categories and tariff with admissions before accepting your offer.
Can I change my branch after the first year at SNU?
SNU's public website does not publish a standalone branch-change policy verified for this page, so do not assume a CGPA-based transfer window exists. Before accepting an offer in a second-choice branch, email [email protected] and ask for the current academic regulation on branch change in writing. A written answer protects you; a counsellor's verbal assurance does not.
What is SNU's actual placement record?
The university's own NIRF filing shows UG median salary rising from โน8,03,000 (2021-22 batch) to โน12,62,000 (2023-24 batch), with 408 of 687 on-time graduates placed in the latest reported year. This figure covers B.Tech together with 4-year B.Sc (Research) programmes โ it is university-wide, not B.Tech-specific or branch-wise.
Does SNU have a published cutoff percentile?
No. SNU has no counselling authority and publishes no branch-by-category-by-round cutoff table. The only public percentile markers are its scholarship-waiver bands: above the 98th percentile in JEE Main for a 100% tuition waiver, 95th-98th percentile for a 50% waiver.
Extended admission FAQs
What is SNIoE, and how is it different from Shiv Nadar University?
SNIoE (Shiv Nadar Institution of Eminence) is the name the university now uses in official material after the Ministry of Education granted it Institution of Eminence Deemed-to-be-University status. It is the same institution as Shiv Nadar University โ not a separate campus or entity.
Why does SNU not publish a JEE Main cutoff percentile like a CAP college?
Because SNU is not part of any state or national counselling authority โ it runs its own phase-based admission process with internal thresholds that are not published as a closing-rank document. The only publicly committed percentile markers are the 95th and 98th percentile scholarship-waiver bands.
How much does a full 4-year SNU B.Tech cost?
This page deliberately does not state a four-year total. The last published fee PDF (2023 batch) carries a footnote stating fees may be revised annually by 5-8%, so any multiplied total would not reflect actual costs across four years. Request the current multi-year fee schedule from admissions in writing.
What is the SNU scholarship structure based on JEE Main percentile?
Per SNU's own admissions page: a JEE (Main) score above the 98th percentile may make a candidate eligible for a 100% tuition fee waiver, while a score between the 95th and 98th percentile may be considered for a 50% waiver. Department-wise thresholds beyond this are not published in advance.
Does SNU's NIRF placement median include only B.Tech students?
No โ the NIRF UG 4-year bucket for SNU covers B.Tech together with the university's 4-year B.Sc (Research) programmes. This page states that explicitly rather than presenting the figure as B.Tech-specific.
Is there a day-scholar option at SNU to reduce costs?
No. SNU describes its campus as fully residential, and living expenses (hostel, mess, laundry) are a mandatory, recurring cost every year โ there is no commuting alternative to reduce the budget the way there might be at a city campus.
What entrance exams does SNU accept for B.Tech admission?
JEE (Main), the university's own SNUSAT (plus APT), SAT, ACT, or CUET UG (with an interview). Any one of these can form the test-score component of SNU's merit composite, alongside Class XII board performance.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page โ the underlying research was already honest and well-sourced. This rebuild adds the site's standard quickAnswer, key facts and FAQ structure. A follow-up check on the AY2026-27 fee and current hostel tariff (2026-08-20) found only aggregator-sourced figures, none traceable to an official SNU document, so both gaps remain stated honestly rather than filled in.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.