Chennai or Gurgaon — the numbers are different
Two campuses, two fee lists, two placement reports. And ₹22,50,000 means the Chennai PGDM at one and the Gurgaon PGPM at the other.
| What | Chennai | Gurgaon |
|---|---|---|
| PGPM total fee | ₹23,50,000 (single AC room) | ₹22,50,000 (twin AC) |
| PGDM total fee | ₹22,50,000 (2026-28) | ₹19,82,000 |
| PGPM average / highest (2026) | ₹18.1 L / ₹43 L | ₹16.2 L / ₹34.5 L |
| PGDM average / highest (2025) | ₹15 L / ₹39.3 L | ₹11.8 L / ₹22.7 L |
| Disputes go to | Chennai courts only | Gurgaon courts only |
- Watch out: on 10 September 2026 the Gurgaon PGDM page still said “PGDM 2026 Intake”.
- Its deadline, 4 December 2025, had already gone. Chennai’s page was on the 2027 intake.
- Full breakdown: Great Lakes Gurgaon admission 2027.
The three programmes
Your months of work experience decide the programme before anything else does.
| Programme | Length | Who can apply | Total fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| PGPM | 1 year, residential | 2+ years of work experience. The college encourages 2–3 years by 30 April 2027. | ₹23,50,000 (AY2026-27) |
| PGDM | 2 years, residential | Freshers, and anyone with under 36 months as on 30 May 2027. Nobody above that. | ₹22,50,000 (2026-28) |
| PGPM-FBE | Not stated by the college | People in a family business, or running a start-up registered in India. | ₹23,50,000 |
- 2 to 3 years: both PGPM and PGDM are open to you.
- Separate forms, separate ₹2,200 fees.
- Under 24 months: PGDM only.
PGPM fees, AY2026-27
₹23,50,000 for Indian students, USD 41,450 for international students.
| Head | Indian (INR) | International (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition Fee | ₹12,43,000 | 21,050 |
| Program Fee | ₹6,96,000 | 12,300 |
| Sub-total | ₹19,39,000 | 33,350 |
| Accommodation (Single AC) | ₹3,96,000 | 7,700 |
| Caution Deposit (refundable) | ₹10,000 | 300 |
| Alumni Subscription | ₹5,000 | 100 |
| Total | ₹23,50,000 | 41,450 |
- This is the college’s own total for the full year. We have not multiplied anything.
- The ₹10,000 deposit comes back, so your real cost is ₹23,40,000.
- A laptop is compulsory. It is not in this table.
- No scholarship amount is published on the fee page.
PGDM fees, 2026-28
₹22,50,000 covers both years, as the college prints it.
| Head | Amount (INR) |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fee | ₹10,25,000 |
| Program Fee | ₹5,78,000 |
| Sub-total | ₹16,03,000 |
| Accommodation (Twin AC) | ₹6,32,000 |
| Caution Deposit (refundable) | ₹10,000 |
| Alumni Subscription | ₹5,000 |
| Total | ₹22,50,000 |
- ₹1,00,000 less than PGPM in total — but it takes a second year.
- So the real gap is twelve more months of lost salary, not ₹1 lakh.
- In year one you may get a triple-sharing AC room instead.
- The college says charges are lower then, and the difference is refunded pro rata.
Hostel, mess and the nine conditions
The room is the biggest non-tuition cost — ₹3,96,000 on PGPM, ₹6,32,000 on PGDM. Nine printed conditions decide what it buys.
| # | What the college says |
|---|---|
| 1 | Tuition covers reading material, case studies, text books and online resources |
| 2 | The programme is approved by AICTE |
| 3 | You must bring your own laptop, to the college’s specification |
| 4 | The programme is residential, so hostel is compulsory |
| 5 | PGPM: single rooms go by order of acceptance, otherwise twin sharing with a partial refund. PGDM: twin sharing, with triple AC possible in year one at lower charges, refunded pro rata |
| 6 | Housing and catering may be outsourced. You pay the service provider, through the college |
| 7 | Vegetarian meals are included. Non-vegetarian food is optional and costs extra |
| 8 | Refunds follow AICTE norms |
| 9 | Any dispute goes to Chennai courts only |
- Accept early if you want a single room.
- No mess rate or instalment plan is published beyond the ₹10,000 deposit.
- Ask admissions in writing for the payment split.
Who can apply — all three programmes
One table for all three. The work-experience row is the one that rules people out.
| Requirement | PGPM | PGDM | PGPM-FBE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Work experience | 2+ years | Freshers to under 36 months as on 30 May 2027 | Must be in a family business or own a registered start-up |
| Tests taken | CAT, GMAT, XAT, NMAT | CAT, GMAT, XAT | CAT, GMAT, XAT, NMAT, or the college’s own GREAT test |
| Score must be from | GMAT on/after 1 Jan 2024 · CAT 2025 or 2026 · XAT 2026 or 2027 · NMAT 2025 onwards | Same, but NMAT is not accepted | Same, with NMAT counted as your last 3 attempts |
| Marks | Bachelor’s in any subject, and 50% in 10th, 12th and UG — all three, not the best of three | ||
| Extra weightage | — | College or university rank holders, if you can prove it | Best score across attempts is counted |
| Essays | 1 mandatory | Not stated | 2 — one mandatory, one optional |
| Quota | None. No management quota, no reservation of any kind | ||
- No cutoff percentile is published anywhere.
- You are judged on test score, past marks, work experience, essay and two interviews.
- Work out your months as on 30 May 2027 before you pay.
- A 2023 GMAT will not qualify for this intake.
Cycles, interviews and how to apply
Four cycles, ₹2,200 a form. PGPM interviews are face to face; PGDM interviews are online.
| Item | PGPM | PGDM |
|---|---|---|
| Cycle 1 scores accepted | GMAT 2024, 2025, 2026 · CAT 2025 & 2026 · XAT 2026 & 2027 · NMAT 2025 onwards | GMAT 2024 onwards · CAT 2025 and 2026 · XAT 2026 and 2027 |
| Apply before your score arrives? | Not stated | Yes — submit with scores pending and be shortlisted on your profile |
| Deadline | To be announced | Not printed on the page |
| Interview | In person — Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai | Online |
| Rounds | Two, with an AI-proctored video interview before the final one | |
| Fee and form | ₹2,200. Apply to each campus separately, or to both on one form — you pick that at registration | |
| Recommender | Official email ID needed. The letter is collected only from finally selected students | |
- The college says no third party is authorised to apply on its behalf.
- It admits nobody under management quota.
- We do not sell seats either. We check your profile, help you pick between PGPM, PGDM and FBE, and check your documents.
PGPM placements, Class of 2026
Average ₹18.1 lakh, highest ₹43 lakh. The middle of the batch sat in the ₹14–17 lakh band.
| Bracket | Average CTC | Salary band |
|---|---|---|
| Top 10% | ₹27 LPA | 25+ LPA — 8% of the batch |
| Top 25% | ₹24 LPA | 20–25 LPA — 18% |
| Top 50% | ₹21 LPA | 17–20 LPA — 23% |
| Top 75% | ₹19 LPA | 14–17 LPA — 35% |
| Batch average | ₹18.1 LPA | 11–14 LPA — 16% |
| Highest | ₹43 LPA (a multinational consulting firm) | Bands add up to 100% |
| Role | Share | Sector hiring |
|---|---|---|
| Business Consulting | 37% | Technology Consulting — 38% |
| Business Analyst | 10% | Business Consulting — 14% |
| Operations | 9% | Technology — 13% |
| Analytics · Sales & Marketing | 8% each | Healthcare, BFSI, Manufacturing, Retail, Energy, HR — the rest |
| General Management · Tech Consulting | 7% · 5% | — |
- The college’s own page contradicts itself. The report is titled 2026 and opens on the Class of 2026.
- But one bullet says “Average CTC offered to the Class of 2025 was ₹18.1 lakhs”. We show both and pick neither.
- Only 8% of the batch crossed 25 LPA. ₹43 lakh is one offer, not the norm.
PGDM placements, Class of 2025
Average ₹15 lakh, highest ₹39.3 lakh, and 63 students converted internship offers.
| Measure | Figure | Offer split |
|---|---|---|
| Average CTC | ₹15 lakh p.a. | Sector: BFSI/NBFC 27% |
| Highest CTC | ₹39.3 lakh p.a. (a multinational FinTech firm) | IT/ITeS 22% |
| Pre-placement offers | 63 students, after their internships | Consulting 16% · Financial Services 9% |
| New recruiters | 25+, including Adani Wilmar, Godrej, MasterCard, Federal Bank, L&T Finance | Role: Finance 33% · Sales & Marketing 32% |
| Most offers | Deloitte, JP Morgan Chase, ICICI Bank, Infosys Consulting | Tech Consulting 12% · Operations 11% |
- Neither programme publishes a median — only averages, brackets and bands.
- An average gets pulled up by the top offers.
- Unlike PGPM, the PGDM report has no salary band chart at all.
- If the average is doing the work in your decision, ask them for the spread.
Mistakes that cost applicants
Five avoidable errors, each settled by one document.
| Mistake | What happens | What settles it |
|---|---|---|
| Using the Gurgaon fee for Chennai | ₹2.68 lakh out on PGDM, ₹1 lakh on PGPM | The Chennai fee pages |
| Assuming a 2023 GMAT counts | It is outside the window for the 2027 intake | Eligibility list on the admissions page |
| Counting 36 months from the day you apply | PGDM measures it as on 30 May 2027 | PGDM 2027 intake eligibility |
| Accepting late, then wanting a single room | PGPM single rooms go by order of acceptance | Note 5 under the PGPM fee table |
| Talking to anyone selling a management-quota seat | No such seat exists; the college calls the offer fraudulent | The quota notice on both admissions pages |
Contact & address
Great Lakes Institute of Management, Dr. Bala V. Balachandar Campus, East Coast Road, Manamai Village, Thirukazhukundram Taluk, Chengalpattu District, Tamil Nadu 603102 · Phone +91-44-27489000 · City office: Prince Infocity II, 1st Floor, 283/3 Rajiv Gandhi Salai (OMR), Kandanchavadi, Chennai 600096
Frequently asked questions
What is the total fee for Great Lakes Chennai PGPM?
₹23,50,000 for Indian students in AY2026-27 — ₹12,43,000 tuition, ₹6,96,000 programme fee, ₹3,96,000 single-AC room, a refundable ₹10,000 deposit and ₹5,000 alumni fee. International students are quoted USD 41,450.
What is the total fee for Great Lakes Chennai PGDM?
₹22,50,000 for the 2026-28 batch — ₹10,25,000 tuition, ₹5,78,000 programme fee, ₹6,32,000 twin-sharing AC room, ₹10,000 refundable deposit and ₹5,000 alumni fee. That is the college’s own total for both years, so nothing needs multiplying.
Can a fresher apply to Great Lakes Chennai?
Yes, to the two-year PGDM. It is open only to freshers and anyone with under 36 months of work experience as on 30 May 2027. Freshers and anyone under 24 months are sent to PGDM rather than PGPM, which wants 2+ years.
Which entrance exams does Great Lakes Chennai accept for 2027?
GMAT taken on or after 1 January 2024, CAT taken in 2025 or 2026, and XAT taken in 2026 or 2027. PGPM and PGPM-FBE also take NMAT from 2025 onwards, and FBE alone accepts the college’s own GREAT test.
Is there a cutoff percentile for Great Lakes Chennai?
No. Neither PGPM nor PGDM publishes a qualifying percentile. You are judged on your test score, marks across 10th, 12th and UG, work experience, essay and two interview rounds, one of which is an AI-proctored video interview.
Is hostel compulsory at Great Lakes Chennai?
Yes. Both programmes are residential, so the room charge cannot be removed — ₹3,96,000 on PGPM for a single AC room, ₹6,32,000 on PGDM for twin sharing. Vegetarian meals are included; non-vegetarian food costs extra.
Does Great Lakes have a management quota?
No. The college says it admits nobody under management quota or any other reservation, and that any third party offering such seats would be fraudulent. It asks applicants not to approach them.
What were Great Lakes Chennai placements in the latest reports?
PGPM Class of 2026 averaged ₹18.1 lakh with a ₹43 lakh high — 8% of the batch above 25 LPA, 35% in the 14–17 LPA band. PGDM Class of 2025 averaged ₹15 lakh with a ₹39.3 lakh high and 63 pre-placement offers.
📋 Data Accuracy Notice (September 2026)
- Primary evidence: 7 page-specific official sources are named in this page's sourcing; each changing figure must match its stated year, round, category and programme.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.