UPES: what it is and where it stands
UPES is an established, heavily marketed private state university with NIRF Engineering rank 43 โ not all programmes carry NBA accreditation.
UPES (University of Petroleum and Energy Studies) is a private state university in Dehradun, established in 2003 through the UPES Act, 2003, passed by the State Legislature of Uttarakhand, and recognised by the UGC under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956. It runs two campuses on the outskirts of Dehradun โ Bidholi and Kandoli, both via Premnagar โ rather than a city-centre location.
B.Tech programmes sit in two schools. The School of Advanced Engineering runs aerospace, chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical, applied petroleum, electronics and computer, VLSI design, fire and safety, and sustainability engineering. The School of Computer Science runs B.Tech CSE with specialisations including AI/ML, data science, cyber security, cloud computing and DevOps.
On external standing: NIRF 2025 ranks UPES 43rd in Engineering and the university reports a rank of 45th in the University category the same year. QS Asia 2026 places it 163rd in Asia. Several engineering programmes โ Applied Petroleum, Mechanical, Mechatronics, Fire and Safety, Civil โ carry NBA accreditation. It is an established, heavily marketed private university; this page separates what is officially published from what is not.
Admission route: how you actually get a seat
Five routes: UPESEAT (own test), JEE Main, Board Merit, SAT, or CUET-UG โ no state counselling authority.
The primary route is UPESEAT, the university's own entrance test. It is an online exam of 2 hours with 125 questions โ 35 each in physics, chemistry and mathematics (biology for health-science programmes) plus 20 in English language comprehension. In the 2026 cycle, UPES ran the test in repeating slots every Saturday and Wednesday rather than on one national exam day, with the last date to apply listed as 31 July 2026. The application fee is โน1,750 (2026 cycle).
You do not have to write UPESEAT. The published alternative routes are:
- JEE Main: minimum 50 percentile for most B.Tech programmes, 60 for Mathematics and Computing
- Board Merit: minimum 80% in Class X and XII with at least 80% in PCM
- SAT: minimum 1040, or 1150 for Mathematics and Computing; CUET-UG scores are also accepted
UPES states that up to 20% of seats are filled through the non-exam category โ 10% via JEE Main and 10% via Board Merit. Baseline eligibility for most B.Tech programmes is 50% in Class X and XII with 50% in PCM; Mathematics and Computing asks 70%. Qualification is followed by counselling and seat allotment run by the university itself โ there is no state counselling authority involved.
Fees: what is officially published
Tuition is published only through an interactive fee-selector tool โ no static figure exists to quote. Add-on fees, however, are fully published.
UPES publishes its AY2026-27 tuition fees only through an interactive selector on its official fee-structure page, so no tuition figure appears here โ but the supporting fees are published in plain text and are listed below.
| Component | Amount | Year and source |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | โน1,750 | 2026 cycle, UPES official B.Tech admissions page |
| Refundable security deposit | โน20,000 | AY2026-27, UPES official other-fees page |
| Technology fee (first year) | โน3,800 per semester | AY2026-27, UPES official other-fees page |
| Training and certification fee (one-time) | โน31,300 | AY2026-27, UPES official other-fees page |
| Personality Development Course (UG) | โน23,300 | AY2026-27, UPES official other-fees page |
| Transport (optional) | โน31,000 per year | AY2026-27, UPES official other-fees page |
The B.Tech tuition fee itself could not be confirmed as a static figure, checked again for this rebuild (2026-08-20). Aggregator sites quote figures for a 4-year total, but none could be traced to a static official UPES page โ the university's own site only exposes tuition through an interactive tool that generates a programme-specific fee card. Before paying anything, generate the fee card for your exact programme on the official tool and save the PDF โ that document, not a counsellor's WhatsApp message or an aggregator's number, is the figure that binds. Note the add-ons above total tens of thousands of rupees a year before tuition or hostel, which matters when comparing UPES against government-college totals.
Cutoff trends: there is no public archive
No branch-wise closing-rank archive exists โ the real filter is the published route floors.
UPES is not a JoSAA or state-CET college, so the cutoff question works differently here. There is no public archive of branch-wise closing ranks the way COEP Pune or VJTI Mumbai publish CAP round cutoffs. No official UPESEAT qualifying-marks document could be found, and the university does not publish one on its admissions pages, checked again for this rebuild.
What UPES does publish โ and what functions as the real, verifiable cutoff โ are the route floors:
- JEE Main: 50 percentile for most B.Tech programmes, 60 for Mathematics and Computing
- Board Merit: 80% in Class X and XII with 80% PCM
- SAT: 1040, or 1150 for Mathematics and Computing
Read those floors for what they are: a 50th-percentile JEE Main score is far below what any top government engineering college accepts, which tells you admission pressure at UPES is about seat availability in popular branches (CSE specialisations fill fastest) rather than a high scoreboard. Practically, the branch you get depends on how early you complete counselling formalities in the cycle, not on beating a published closing rank. If a counsellor quotes you a specific "UPESEAT cutoff", ask for the official document โ this page could not locate one.
Placements: what is verifiable
UPES's own NIRF filing shows a genuinely improving placement trend across three years.
UPES's own NIRF 2025 submission shows a B.Tech median salary of โน6,50,000 for the 2023-24 graduating batch, with 1,158 of 1,272 on-time graduates placed.
| Graduating year | Graduated on time | Placed | Median salary | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 1,562 | 762 | โน5,00,000 | 49 |
| 2022-23 | 925 | 900 | โน6,50,000 | 17 |
| 2023-24 | 1,272 | 1,158 | โน6,50,000 | 8 |
All figures are from the university's audited NIRF 2025 data submission (IR-E-U-0564), UG 4-year programmes. Two honest readings. First, the trend is genuinely improving: 762 placed out of 1,562 on-time graduates in 2021-22 versus 1,158 of 1,272 in 2023-24. Second, the median โ half of placed students earned โน6.5 lakh or less โ is the number to plan a loan around, not the highest-package figures used in advertising.
What is not published anywhere official, checked again for this rebuild: branch-wise medians, average package, highest package, and recruiter-wise offers. Treat any such number quoted to you as unverified until UPES shows it in a signed document.
Hostel & campus life
AY2026-27 hostel tariffs are fully published โ adding roughly โน2 lakh/year on top of the unpublished tuition.
Both campuses โ Bidholi and Kandoli โ have separate hostels for men and women, and unusually for this sector, UPES publishes its hostel tariff in plain text. The AY2026-27 figures:
| Room type | Annual fee (AY2026-27) |
|---|---|
| Triple sharing, common washroom (Bidholi and Kandoli, on-campus) | โน1,95,810 |
| Triple sharing AC, common washroom (Kandoli) | โน2,24,400 |
| Double sharing, attached washroom | โน2,48,240 |
| Double sharing AC, attached washroom | โน2,78,300 |
| Off-campus double sharing, non-AC / AC (Bidholi) | โน2,37,540 / โน2,64,000 |
| Hostel security deposit (interest-free, refundable) | โน10,000 |
Budget honestly: the cheapest room adds roughly โน2 lakh a year on top of tuition, and the campuses sit outside Dehradun city โ via Premnagar โ so day-scholar life from the city means the โน31,000-per-year transport fee (AY2026-27) or your own arrangement. Whether mess charges are included in the hostel tariff is not stated on the fee page opened for this research โ confirm it in writing before paying. On-campus rooms are limited, so room-type choice is effectively first-come.
How UPES compares
UPES trades cutoff transparency for admission certainty via a low JEE Main floor and multiple accepted score routes.
Compare by decision axis, not by brochure.
- On cost: COEP Pune and VJTI Mumbai sit in a different universe โ government-aided fees against a private university where hostel alone starts near โน1.96 lakh a year (AY2026-27). If you hold a CAP-round seat at either, the UPES offer letter should not tempt you.
- On admission certainty: this is where UPES genuinely differs. PICT Pune and SPIT Mumbai demand strong MHT-CET percentiles in brutally competitive CAP rounds; UPES publishes a 50-percentile JEE Main floor and an every-Saturday-and-Wednesday online exam (2026). For a student with mid-range scores who wants a confirmed CSE-flavoured seat early, that certainty is the actual product.
- On placement evidence: PICT Pune's value is its Pune IT recruiter density; UPES's verifiable number is a โน6,50,000 NIRF median (2023-24 batch). Ask each college for the same NIRF line and compare medians, not highest packages.
- On campus experience: VIT Pune is a city college in a metro job market; UPES is a self-contained residential campus in the Dehradun foothills. Decide which life you want for four years โ proximity to internships, or a contained campus far from a metro โ because that choice, not the marketing, is the real trade.
Contact & address
UPES, P.O. Bidholi, Via Premnagar, Dehradun โ 248007, Uttarakhand (Kandoli campus: P.O. Kandoli, Via Premnagar, Dehradun โ 248007)
Frequently asked questions
Which exams can I use to get into B.Tech at UPES Dehradun?
Five published routes: UPESEAT (the university's own online test), JEE Main (minimum 50 percentile for most programmes, 60 for Mathematics and Computing), Board Merit (80% in Class X and XII with 80% in PCM), SAT (1040+, or 1150+ for Mathematics and Computing) and CUET-UG. Baseline eligibility for most B.Tech programmes is 50% in Class X, Class XII and PCM.
What is UPES's B.Tech tuition fee for 2026-27?
Not stated as a static figure anywhere official. UPES publishes B.Tech tuition only through an interactive fee-selector tool on its own site โ generate and save the fee card for your exact programme rather than relying on any third-party figure. Real, plain-text-published add-ons include a โน20,000 deposit, โน3,800/semester technology fee, and โน31,300 one-time certification fee.
How often is UPESEAT held, and in what mode?
In the 2026 cycle UPES ran UPESEAT online with repeating slots every Saturday and Wednesday, rather than one national exam day. It is a 2-hour test of 125 questions โ 35 each in physics, chemistry and mathematics, plus 20 in English comprehension. Missing one slot is not fatal because windows repeat; the published last date to apply for 2026 was 31 July.
What documents should I keep ready for UPES admission?
Keep Class X and XII marksheets, the scorecard for whichever route you use (JEE Main, SAT or CUET-UG), a photo ID and passport-size photographs scanned and ready โ the process runs online end-to-end. The binding checklist arrives with your offer letter, so verify requirements there before paying any fee.
How does hostel allotment work at UPES?
Hostels run at both Bidholi and Kandoli campuses with room types from triple-sharing with common washrooms to AC double-sharing with attached washrooms; AY2026-27 tariffs per room type are published on the official other-fees page, plus a โน10,000 interest-free refundable hostel security deposit. On-campus capacity is limited, so room-type choice is effectively first-come.
Does UPES publish a branch-change policy for B.Tech?
Not on any public page verified for this page. What is published: specialisation choice inside B.Tech CSE works through electives โ a core subject plus two chosen electives โ so there is flexibility within a school. Moving between branches, say mechanical to CSE, has no published public rule. Get the current policy in writing from the admissions office before you accept a seat and pay.
What is UPES's actual placement record?
The university's own NIRF 2025 filing shows UG median salary of โน6,50,000 for the 2023-24 batch, with 1,158 of 1,272 on-time graduates placed โ a genuinely improving trend from 762 of 1,562 in 2021-22. No branch-wise medians, average, or highest package are published anywhere official.
Is there a UPES cutoff percentile I should aim for?
No published closing-rank exists. The real filters are the route floors: 50th percentile JEE Main for most programmes, 80% Board Merit, or SAT 1040+. Seat pressure in popular branches (especially CSE) is managed by how early you complete counselling, not by a published merit cutoff.
Extended admission FAQs
Why doesn't UPES publish a static B.Tech tuition figure?
The university's own fee-structure page uses an interactive selector tool that generates a programme-specific fee card rather than listing a single static number. This page does not quote a tuition figure because no verified static official source exists โ confirm the current figure via the official tool for your exact programme.
How much does a full 4-year UPES B.Tech cost?
This page does not state a total, since the tuition component itself could not be confirmed from a static official source. The confirmed add-ons alone (technology fee, certification fee, PDC, deposit) total well over โน1 lakh across four years before tuition or hostel โ generate the official fee card for the actual tuition figure.
What is the difference between UPES's on-campus and off-campus hostel options?
On-campus hostels at Bidholi and Kandoli range from โน1,95,810/year (triple-sharing, common washroom) to โน2,78,300/year (AC double-sharing, attached washroom). An off-campus double-sharing option at Bidholi costs โน2,37,540 (non-AC) or โน2,64,000 (AC) per year โ all figures per the AY2026-27 official other-fees page.
Does a 50th percentile JEE Main score really qualify for UPES?
Yes, per the university's own published eligibility floor for most B.Tech programmes (60th percentile for Mathematics and Computing specifically). This is far below the percentile a top government engineering college would require โ reflecting that UPES admission pressure is about seat availability and counselling timing, not a high score threshold.
What does UPES's NIRF placement trend actually show?
A genuinely improving three-year series from the university's own 2025 NIRF filing: 762 of 1,562 on-time graduates placed in 2021-22 (median โน5,00,000), 900 of 925 in 2022-23 (median โน6,50,000), and 1,158 of 1,272 in 2023-24 (median โน6,50,000). Read the placed-share alongside the median โ both improved together.
Are all UPES B.Tech programmes NBA-accredited?
No. Only specific programmes โ Applied Petroleum, Mechanical, Mechatronics, Fire and Safety, and Civil โ carry NBA accreditation per the university's own rankings page. Confirm the accreditation status of your specific programme before assuming it applies university-wide.
What percentage of UPES seats go through non-exam routes?
Up to 20%, per the School of Advanced Engineering's own page: 10% through JEE Main and 10% through Board Merit, alongside the primary UPESEAT and other accepted-score routes.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page โ the underlying research was already honest and well-sourced. This rebuild adds the site's standard quickAnswer, key facts and FAQ structure. A follow-up check on the AY2026-27 tuition figure (2026-08-20) found only aggregator-sourced claims, none traceable to a static official page, confirming the tool-only publication method the base content had already identified โ so that gap remains stated honestly rather than filled in.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.