JAIN FET: what it is and where it stands
JU-FET is a deemed university, not VTU-affiliated, on a remote campus 45km down Kanakapura Main Road.
JAIN (Deemed-to-be University) runs its engineering programmes through the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, known as JU-FET. AICTE's Extension of Approval for 2026-27 names the institution "JAIN DEEMED TO BE UNIVERSITY FACULTY OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY" (Permanent Id 1-3866673607), records its type as "Institution Deemed to be University (Pvt)" and its year of establishment as 2007.
The detail that matters most to an applicant sits on the same letter: against every course, the affiliating body is printed as "NOT APPLICABLE". JU-FET is not affiliated to VTU. The degree is awarded by JAIN itself, and so is the admission process.
The campus is at Jain Global Campus, Jakkasandra Post, Kanakapura Taluk, Ramanagara District 562112, on the 45th km of NH-209 down Kanakapura Main Road โ well outside Bangalore city, which shapes both the hostel maths and daily life.
On accreditation, NAAC rates JAIN "A++ grade with a CGPA of 3.71 on a four-point scale", and UGC has granted the university Graded Autonomy under the 2018 regulations. The FET admissions page lists NBA accreditation for Computer Science, Information Science, Aerospace, Mechanical and Electronics and Communications.
In NIRF 2025 the entity is listed as "Jain university, Bangalore" (IR-E-U-0223) at rank 84 with a score of 48.01. The university's own page separately shows rank 62 in the University category for the same year โ two different categories, frequently conflated.
Admission route: how you actually get a seat
JU-FET is a deemed university outside COMEDK/KCET โ apply directly on JAIN's own portal and sit JET, or claim exemption with an accepted rank.
JU-FET is a deemed-to-be university, and that changes the entire route. It does not appear in COMEDK's UGET member-institution list. The four Karnataka colleges carrying the "Jain" name there โ Jain College of Engineering, Belagavi; Jain College of Engineering and Research, Belagavi; Jain Institute of Technology, Davangere; and Jain College of Engineering and Technology, Hubballi โ are separate institutions. A COMEDK or KEA allotment will not place you at Jakkasandra. You apply to the university directly.
Eligibility, as stated on JU-FET's own B.Tech admissions page: "Passed with Minimum 45% marks (40% for SC/ST) in 12th PUC/ISC/CBSE OR Equivalent Board with Physics and Mathematics as Compulsory Subjects". The course runs four years, eight semesters.
The entrance gate is JAIN's own JET, with exemptions. The same page gives the accepted scores as "JEE / ComedK / KCET along with any recognised national-level entrance examination", and states that "IIT, EAMCET, KCET, COMEDK, Uni GAUGE candidates who have secured a rank are exempted from Online Entrance Exam." A COMEDK or KCET rank is therefore a JET waiver here, not a counselling entry.
The published sequence: register on the university portal, pay the โน600 application cost, complete the online application with photograph and marksheet uploads, sit JET or claim exemption, attend the university's own counselling, then accept the provisional offer on the student dashboard with a fee payment. For AY2026-27 the published calendar was JET on 30 April and 1 May 2026, the qualified list on 2 May, counselling on 4-5 May and final fee payment by 10 May 2026.
Fees (2026-27)
JU-FET's own table runs from โน2,00,000/year to โน4,00,000/year by branch, but carries no category differential or four-year total.
| B.Tech branch | Tuition per annum |
|---|---|
| Civil Engineering | โน2,00,000 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | โน2,00,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | โน2,15,000 |
| Aeronautical Engineering | โน3,00,000 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | โน3,00,000 |
| Computer Science and Engineering | โน3,25,000 |
| Information Science and Engineering | โน3,25,000 |
| Aerospace Engineering | โน3,25,000 |
| CSE (Data Science) | โน3,75,000 |
| Computer Science and Business Systems | โน3,75,000 |
| CSE (AI and Machine Learning) | โน4,00,000 |
| CSE (Cybersecurity) | โน4,00,000 |
| One-time registration fee | โน30,000 |
Two honest gaps, checked again for this rebuild and still unresolved as of 2026-08-20. First, that table carries one fee column only, so whether COMEDK, KCET, NRI or international candidates pay a different rate is not stated anywhere official. Second, the university publishes an annual figure, not a four-year total, and no installment schedule appears on the fee page โ do not multiply the annual figure by four and treat the answer as the price. A document found during this research, hosted on a third-party fee-payment platform (static.npfs.co) that also serves at least one unrelated institution, could not be confirmed as an official Jain University circular and was deliberately not used as a source.
Tuition is not the whole bill. The location makes hostel effectively non-optional, and for the cheaper branches the hostel fee is of the same order as tuition. On cancellation, the university states only that "All cancellations shall be processed as per the JAIN (Deemed-to-be University) cancellation policy" โ read it before the fee deadline, which falls days after counselling.
Seats and intake 2026-27
No branch-wise cutoff exists because no external authority allots these seats โ of 1,860 approved seats, 1,080 are plain Computer Science.
There is no official closing-rank cutoff table for JU-FET, and the reason is structural rather than a disclosure gap: no external authority allots these seats, so none publishes closing ranks for them. Any site showing a "JU-FET cutoff" is estimating.
What gates the seat is the eligibility floor plus a JET qualification or an accepted rank. The binding constraint in practice is branch availability, not your rank โ and that is published, in the AICTE approval letter.
| Course | Intake approved |
|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 1,080 |
| CSE (Artificial Intelligence) | 60 |
| CSE (Cyber Security) | 60 |
| CSE (Data Science) | 60 |
| CSE (IoT) | 60 |
| Computer Engineering (Software Engineering) | 60 |
| Computer Science and Business Systems | 60 |
| Information Science and Engineering | 60 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 60 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 60 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 60 |
| Civil Engineering | 60 |
| Aerospace Engineering | 60 |
| Aeronautical Engineering | 60 |
| Total | 1,860 |
Read it this way: being admitted and getting the branch you named are two different questions here. Plain CSE holds the volume. The named specialisations are 60 seats each, and they are also the ones priced highest. Ask at counselling how many of those 60 are already committed.
Placements: what is verifiable
The university's own NIRF filing shows a rising median but a falling placed count across the last two graduating cohorts.
| Graduating year | Graduated (min. time) | Placed | Median salary | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AY2021-22 | 912 | 389 | โน6,33,000 | 192 |
| AY2022-23 | 978 | 421 | โน6,00,000 | 194 |
| AY2023-24 | 891 | 344 | โน7,56,000 | 211 |
Read the three rows together, not the median alone. The median rose from โน6,00,000 to โน7,56,000 while the number placed fell from 421 to 344 against a similar cohort โ this site's own arithmetic on NIRF's two columns puts the placed share under 40% in AY2023-24. A rising median on a shrinking placed count usually means weaker offers left the pool, not that everyone did better. The higher-studies column is the other half of the picture.
JU-FET's own placements page advertises a highest package and department-level averages, but attaches no academic year to them, so this page does not reproduce them โ an unlabelled figure is not a fact this site will publish. Branch-wise median salary, the figure that would actually tell a CSE or Mechanical applicant what to expect, is not published anywhere official, checked again for this rebuild. Ask for it in writing at counselling.
Hostel & campus life
Hostel is effectively compulsory given the campus location โ AY2026-27 rates run โน1,85,000โ2,25,000/year, though a full-year inclusion breakdown and a girls' off-campus rate remain unpublished.
This campus is residential by geography. At the 45th km of NH-209 on Kanakapura Main Road, Ramanagara District, it is not somewhere most students commute to daily from Bangalore, so hostel cost belongs in the admission budget from the start.
| Hostel option | Double sharing | Triple sharing |
|---|---|---|
| On campus, girls | NA | โน1,85,000 |
| On campus, boys | โน2,25,000 | โน1,90,000 |
| Off campus, boys | โน1,85,000 | NA |
| Caution deposit (refundable) | โน10,000 | โน10,000 |
Rows marked NA are not offered in that combination on the published table. The deposit is "refundable when the student exits the hostel at the end of the tenure", against an NOC from the hostel. What the figure includes across a full year, and what a girls' off-campus option would cost, remain unpublished on the official page, checked again for this rebuild (2026-08-20).
On facilities the university does describe: meals run by Sodexo across breakfast, lunch, evening snacks and dinner from a central kitchen; rooms in single, double and triple occupancy with attached washrooms; CCTV-monitored hostels with wardens, a doctor on call and medical insurance cover stated as up to โน3,00,000. The library holds around 30,000 books, more than 120 national and international periodicals, and study space for over 100 readers. Sports provision is broad โ six tennis courts, ten badminton courts, four basketball courts, two football grounds and a cricket oval.
How JAIN FET compares
JU-FET trades cutoff risk for fee exposure โ the right trade for a student outside the CAP domicile system, the wrong one for a strong CET rank.
Set JU-FET against the Maharashtra colleges our readers most often weigh it against, and the axis is not quality. It is what kind of risk you are buying.
COEP Pune and VJTI Mumbai are the cost-and-cutoff extreme. Government-linked fees, admission through Maharashtra's CAP counselling, published closing ranks you can check before you commit, and no route in at all if your rank falls short. Certainty of price, uncertainty of entry.
PICT Pune sits in the same system with a computer-science reputation that pushes its closing ranks high. It is the college where a strong rank buys you the most and a weak rank buys you nothing.
VIT Pune is the closest structural analogue โ private, autonomous, city campus โ but it still admits through CAP against a published cutoff, so the rank gate applies there too.
JU-FET inverts the trade. There is no closing rank to clear; there is a price to meet and an eligibility floor to cross. You exchange cutoff risk for fee exposure. That is the right trade for some students โ an applicant outside the Maharashtra domicile system, or one whose rank landed short of every CAP option โ and clearly the wrong one for a student holding a rank that COEP or VJTI would accept.
Where both institutions appear in NIRF, compare their positions there. It is the one measure published for both on the same basis.
Contact & address
Faculty of Engineering & Technology, JAIN (Deemed-to-be University), Jain Global Campus, 45th km NH-209, Jakkasandra Post, Kanakapura Main Road, Ramanagara District, Karnataka 562112
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a COMEDK or KCET rank to get into JAIN FET Bangalore?
No. JAIN is a deemed-to-be university and does not appear in COMEDK's UGET member-institution list, so neither COMEDK nor the Karnataka Examinations Authority allots these seats. You apply directly on JAIN's own portal and sit its JET. A COMEDK, KCET, JEE or Uni-GAUGE rank still helps, but in a different way: the admissions page says rank holders are exempted from the online entrance exam.
What is JU-FET's B.Tech fee for 2026-27?
The official table runs from โน2,00,000/year (Civil, Electrical & Electronics) to โน4,00,000/year (CSE-AI&ML, CSE-Cybersecurity), plus a one-time โน30,000 registration fee. The table has one fee column only โ whether COMEDK, KCET, NRI or international candidates pay a different rate is not stated anywhere official.
Is there a JU-FET cutoff or closing rank?
No. There is no external counselling authority allotting these seats, so no branch-wise closing rank exists โ structurally, not as a disclosure gap. What actually gates a seat is the eligibility floor, a JET qualification or accepted-rank exemption, and branch seat availability at the time you're counselled.
How many counselling rounds does JAIN hold, and when?
JAIN runs its own counselling rather than multi-round state counselling. For AY2026-27 its admissions page published counselling across two days, 4 and 5 May 2026, two days after the qualified-candidate list, with a final fee-payment date of 10 May. Because the university admits directly, the calendar can move, so confirm the current cycle on the official page.
What documents do I submit, and at what stage?
At application stage you upload a photograph and marksheets on the portal. Admission is provisional until originals are submitted and verified by the university. JAIN's published terms require candidates to complete provisional admission formalities, including original document submission, balance fee and hostel or bus fees where applicable, within 21 days of the provisional offer, failing which the offer is withdrawn.
Is a hostel seat guaranteed, and how do I apply?
Hostel is handled separately from the tuition offer. JU-FET publishes a hostel application form to download, complete and present when you take hostel admission, alongside a fee table split by gender, occupancy and on- or off-campus. Because the campus sits well outside Bangalore, apply as soon as your provisional offer is accepted rather than waiting for term to begin.
What does JU-FET's own placement data show?
The university's own NIRF filing shows UG median salary rising from โน6,00,000 (AY2022-23 cohort) to โน7,56,000 (AY2023-24 cohort), but the number of students placed fell from 421 to 344 over the same period. No branch-wise median, and no dated highest-package or average-package figure, is published anywhere official.
Can I change my branch after the first year?
JAIN's official B.Tech admissions page does not publish a branch-change policy, so treat any verbal assurance at counselling as unconfirmed until it is in writing. Establish two things before you accept a seat: whether an internal change is permitted at all after first year, and what happens to your fee, since tuition differs sharply by specialisation.
Extended admission FAQs
What is JET, and can I skip it?
JET is JAIN's own entrance test for B.Tech admission. You can skip it if you hold an accepted rank from JEE, COMEDK, KCET, or another recognised national-level entrance exam โ the official admissions page states these candidates are exempted from the online entrance exam, though the rank does not itself allot a seat through any external counselling process.
Why does JU-FET's fee table not show an NRI or international rate?
The published "JET/JEE Fee 2026" table carries only one fee column, applying uniformly regardless of category. Whether NRI, international, or exam-specific (COMEDK/KCET) candidates are actually charged a different rate elsewhere is not stated on that page โ confirm directly with admissions if this applies to you.
How much does a full 4-year JU-FET B.Tech cost?
The university does not publish a four-year total or an installment schedule โ only the per-annum figure. A simple multiplication of the annual rate by four is not the same as a college-confirmed total, since fees may be revised year to year; ask the admission office for the written installment schedule before paying anything.
Which JU-FET branch has the most seats?
Plain Computer Science and Engineering, with 1,080 of the 1,860 total AICTE-approved undergraduate engineering seats for AY2026-27. Every other specialisation โ including the higher-priced CSE variants like AI & Machine Learning and Cybersecurity โ carries 60 seats each.
Why did the number of students placed fall even as the median salary rose?
The university's own NIRF filing does not explain this directly, but reading the two figures together โ 421 placed in AY2022-23 versus 344 in AY2023-24, against a rising median โ suggests some of the weaker-paying opportunities left the recruiting pool rather than every graduate's outcome improving. Treat the placed-count trend as part of the same record as the median, not a separate story.
Is JU-FET affiliated to VTU?
No. As a deemed-to-be university, JU-FET's own AICTE approval letter prints "NOT APPLICABLE" against the affiliating body for every course. The degree is awarded by JAIN itself, not VTU โ a genuinely different structure from most other Bangalore engineering colleges on this site.
How far is the JU-FET campus from central Bangalore?
The campus sits at the 45th km of NH-209 on Kanakapura Main Road, Ramanagara District โ well outside Bangalore city. This is a genuine factor in the hostel-versus-day-scholar decision; most students treat it as a residential campus rather than a commuting one.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page โ the underlying research was already honest and well-sourced. This rebuild adds the site's standard quickAnswer, key facts and FAQ structure. A follow-up research pass on 2026-08-20 tried to resolve the remaining NRI-fee, four-year-total and hostel gaps; one candidate document could not be confirmed as an official Jain University source and was deliberately not used, so those gaps remain stated honestly rather than filled in.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.