Chandigarh University: What It Is and Where It Stands
A private university at Gharuan, Mohali since 2012, with NBA accreditation across every engineering branch.
Chandigarh University is a private university at Gharuan, Mohali, in existence since 2012, ranked 31st in the NIRF 2025 Engineering list (NIRF 2025).
In its own words, the university "came into being in 2012 as a private University under section 2(f) of UGC Act, 1956" (Chandigarh University NAAC Self Study Report, April 2019). It was set up under the aegis of the Chandigarh Educational Trust, which CU's mandatory disclosure page still names as its sponsoring body. The about page states the university was established by the Punjab State Legislature and confers degrees under Section 22(1) of the UGC Act, 1956.
Engineering sits inside the University Institute of Engineering on the Gharuan campus, on NH-05 between Chandigarh and Ludhiana. The Self Study Report puts the campus at 105.58 acres (CU NAAC Self Study Report, April 2019). A second CU campus operates at Unnao, Uttar Pradesh, so check which campus an offer letter actually names before you accept it.
- NAAC: A+ grade in the first cycle, per CU's official NAAC page. NAAC awards are time-limited, so confirm current validity on naac.gov.in.
- NBA: CU's recognitions and approvals page states that all its engineering programmes are NBA-accredited, naming Mechanical, Electrical, Civil, Electronics & Communication, Mechatronics, Aerospace, Computer Science, Information Technology and Chemical Engineering. NBA accreditation is programme-and-period specific, so confirm the current status for your branch on nbaind.org.
- ABET: the same page lists the UG Chemical, Computer Science and Electronics & Communication programmes as ABET-accredited.
- NIRF Engineering: rank 32, score 59.82 (NIRF 2024) and rank 31, score 60.46 (NIRF 2025), both nirfindia.org.
Admission Route: How You Actually Get a Seat
CUCET is mandatory and doubles as a scholarship test โ no counselling, no closing rank.
There is no state counselling authority here. Admission is direct with the university through CUCET, its own entrance and scholarship test.
This is the most important structural fact about CU for anyone comparing it with a government college. You do not fill a choice list, you do not wait for a round-wise allotment list, and there is no closing rank to check afterwards. You register on the CUCET portal, sit the test, and the university makes you an offer.
CU's admission portal states that CUCET is mandatory for admission to Engineering. The paper is 100 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes with no negative marking, taken online from home on a laptop or PC with a camera (2026). It runs in two phases, two attempts are allowed per phase, and the best score is the one counted.
Dates published for the current cycle: registration opened 25 October 2025, the registration end date is 31 July 2026 and the last CUCET-II exam date is 1 August 2026 (2026). CUCET Phase-I ran October 2025 to June 2026 and is shown as closed; Phase-II runs from July 2026 to the end of admission.
CUCET doubles as the scholarship test, which is where the real money moves. For Phase I, CU publishes a 100% tuition waiver at 90.01% and above, 50% at 80-90%, 40% at 70-79.99%, 30% at 60-69.99%, 25% at 50-59.99% and 15% at 40-49.99% (2026). Phase II slabs are lower for the same score, so the phase you sit in changes what you pay. Waivers continue only with 7.5 CGPA each year and no disciplinary action, and are not offered to international students or transfer cases. Candidates above 90% in 10+2 are exempted from sitting CUCET at all.
Fee Structure (What Is Officially Published)
CU's own Mandatory Disclosure page still shows 2025-26 fees โ confirmed unchanged again on 2026-08-20.
CU's mandatory disclosure page publishes a per-semester B.E. fee for AY2025-26 running from โน95,000 for Chemical Engineering to โน1,46,000 for plain Computer Science and up to โน1,75,000 for the B.E. (Hons.) CSE specialisation streams (Chandigarh University mandatory disclosure, "Fee Per Semester (2025-26)"). Check exactly which CSE variant your offer letter names.
| B.E. branch | Fee per semester (2025-26) |
|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | โน1,46,000 |
| Aerospace Engineering | โน1,33,000 |
| Information Technology | โน1,21,000 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | โน1,14,000 |
| Biotechnology | โน1,12,500 |
| Mechanical Engineering | โน1,12,500 |
| Civil Engineering | โน1,10,000 |
| Electrical Engineering | โน1,10,000 |
| Mechatronics | โน1,10,000 |
| Automobile Engineering | โน1,08,000 |
| Food Technology | โน1,08,000 |
| Chemical Engineering | โน95,000 |
These are Chandigarh University's engineering fees per semester for 2025-26. The mandatory disclosure page is the only place on cuchd.in that carries them as static text; the public course-fee page loads its table dynamically.
B.E. fee for AY2026-27: we fetched CU's official Mandatory Disclosure page again directly on 2026-08-20, and it is still headed "Fee Per Semester (2025-26)" โ the CSE row still reads exactly โน1,46,000, unchanged from what is stated above. Aggregator sites quote a "2026-27" CSE figure of roughly โน1,53,000/semester, but since CU's own official document has not itself been updated to a 2026-27 cycle, that aggregator figure is not used here. Confirm it on the mandatory disclosure page or, better, in your written offer, closer to your admission date.
Two cautions. CU publishes a per-semester number and not a programme total, and we will not multiply one to manufacture the other: semester fees are revised and scholarship slabs change what you actually pay. And the figure is tuition only. Hostel, mess and one-time charges sit outside it.
Cutoff Trends: How to Read Them
No branch-wise closing rank exists โ CU allots its own seats with no public counselling authority.
CU publishes no branch-wise closing rank, because no public counselling authority allots its seats.
Branch-wise cutoff for AY2026-27: not published, and it is likely to stay unpublished, checked again 2026-08-20.
A JoSAA, CSAB or state-CET college publishes closing ranks because a government body runs the allotment and has to show its arithmetic. CU allots its own seats, so the equivalent public document simply does not exist. Individual programme pages on cuchd.in carry a "Cutoff" label, but the tables behind it did not render.
What rations a seat here instead is a two-part answer. Your CUCET percentile sets the scholarship slab, which is a price question rather than an entry question. Branch availability is settled by when you accept and pay. For the branches in demand, CSE and IT above all, the binding constraint is the date on your acceptance, not a rank.
So the questions worth asking are different from the ones you would ask a CAP college. Get the department to confirm in writing the exact branch named on your offer, the seats sanctioned for that branch this year, and whether a waitlist exists at all. For scale: sanctioned UG four-year intake was 3,936 for AY2023-24 (NIRF 2025, Chandigarh University submission). It is a large batch, which is why "no seats left" is rarely the first thing you hear.
Placements: What Is Verifiable
CU's own two NIRF filings disagree on one figure โ this page states both rather than choosing.
CU's own NIRF filings put the median salary of placed UG engineering graduates at โน8,00,000 for both the 2022-23 and 2023-24 cohorts.
| Graduating cohort | Graduated in minimum time | Placed | Median salary | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 2,987 | 1,542 | โน7,50,000 | 673 |
| 2022-23 | 2,921 | 1,064 | โน8,00,000 | 610 |
| 2023-24 | 2,933 | 1,087 | โน8,00,000 | 614 |
Read the placed column, not only the median. On CU's own NIRF 2025 figures, 1,087 of 2,933 graduates in AY2023-24 were recorded as placed. Our arithmetic on those two official numbers is roughly 37%, about one in three, with a further 614 going to higher studies.
One discrepancy you should know about before anyone quotes a placement percentage at you. CU's NIRF 2024 submission records 2,311 students placed from the 2022-23 cohort. Its NIRF 2025 submission records 1,064 placed from that same cohort. Both are official filings on nirfindia.org. We cannot reconcile them, and we will not quietly pick the flattering one.
Branch-wise median salary: not published. CU's programme pages headline single highest-package figures, which describe one offer and say nothing about the middle of a 2,900-strong batch. Ask the placement cell for a branch-wise median and the number of students who actually sat.
Hostel & Campus Life
A large, residential, overwhelmingly out-of-state campus โ hostel charges are undated on CU's own page.
CU is a residential, largely out-of-state campus. Of 13,509 UG four-year engineering students, 11,038 came from outside Punjab and 980 from outside India (NIRF 2025, Chandigarh University submission).
| Room category | Annual charge as published (session not stated) |
|---|---|
| 5-seater non-AC | โน1,20,000 |
| 4-seater non-AC | โน1,35,000 |
| 3-seater non-AC | โน1,50,000 |
| 5-seater AC (boys) | โน1,50,000 |
| 4-seater AC (girls) | โน1,65,000 |
| 3-seater AC | โน1,80,000 |
| 1-seater AC (boys) | โน2,20,000 |
These are the figures on Chandigarh University's official hostel facility page. That table carries no academic session label, so we treat the numbers as undated and the AY2026-27 hostel charge as unconfirmed until CU labels one. The same page states that charges rise by โน2,000 a year for domestic students on account of food inflation, and that mess is attached.
The hostel pages describe 16,000-plus rooms across boys' and girls' blocks with mess, laundry, medical support and sports courts. Campus area is 105.58 acres (CU NAAC Self Study Report, April 2019). Hostel questions go to [email protected] and [email protected], or the hostel helpline listed on CU's hostel page.
Budget honestly. At those rates, accommodation is a second cost line of the same order as tuition for several branches. Build the household budget on tuition plus hostel plus travel home, not on tuition alone.
How Chandigarh University Compares
CU sells admission certainty by a fixed date โ the trade-off, not a lack of quality, is what you are weighing.
Compare CU on admission certainty and scale, not on cutoff prestige, because the cutoff axis does not exist here.
Against PICT Pune, the contrast is the whole admission model. PICT fills through Maharashtra's CAP rounds with published closing ranks, so you know before you commit exactly where you stood. CU offers certainty instead of transparency: you can secure a named branch early, and you pay considerably more per semester for that certainty. Pick PICT-style counselling if your rank is strong and you can wait out the rounds; pick CU if a confirmed seat by a fixed date matters more.
Against DTU Delhi, the axis is fee and selectivity. DTU is a government institution filling through JAC Delhi at rank-based cutoffs and a far lower fee. If your JEE Main rank puts DTU in play, CU is not competing on cost or on recruiter familiarity.
Against UPES Dehradun, the model is genuinely similar: a private university, its own entrance and scholarship test, a large multidisciplinary campus and pan-India intake. Decide that one on branch specifics, campus visit and total four-year outlay rather than on positioning.
Against Plaksha Mohali, the same city holds two opposite bets. Plaksha runs a small, research-led cohort with intensive faculty contact; CU runs scale, breadth of branches and a very large recruiting funnel. Neither is the safer choice in the abstract. If you want a small room, do not pick the large one.
Contact & address
Chandigarh University, NH-05, Chandigarh-Ludhiana Highway, Gharuan, Mohali, Punjab 140413
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a JEE Main rank to get into Chandigarh University's B.E.?
No. CU runs its own entrance, CUCET, and its admission portal states CUCET is mandatory for Engineering admission. There is no JoSAA, CSAB or state counselling route into the Gharuan campus. Candidates scoring above 90% in 10+2 are exempted from sitting CUCET. Confirm your exact eligibility path in writing before paying any acceptance amount.
How many CUCET attempts and phases are there?
CUCET runs in two phases, CUCET-I and CUCET-II, and CU's official FAQ allows two attempts per phase, with the best score counted. Phase I scholarship slabs are more generous than Phase II for the same percentage, so sitting early is worth money. For the 2026 cycle, registration opened 25 October 2025 and CUCET-I was held on 1 February 2026.
What documents will I need at admission?
CU does not publish a public document checklist on the admission pages, so we will not invent one. The requirement is issued with your offer through the CUCET portal. Keep Class 10 and 12 mark sheets, photo identification, passport photographs and your CUCET scorecard ready, and ask the admission office to email the definitive list before you travel.
How is hostel accommodation allotted?
CU's hostel page publishes room categories and annual charges but does not state an allotment rule, so we cannot tell you whether it runs on merit, on payment date or on request. Given that most engineering students here come from outside Punjab, treat hostel booking as a same-day task once you accept. Write to the hostel care addresses listed on CU's hostel page.
Can I change my branch after the first year?
We could not find a branch-change policy published on Chandigarh University's official pages, so we will not describe one. Ask the Dean of the University Institute of Engineering, in writing, whether internal branch transfer exists, what CGPA it requires and whether the fee difference between branches applies. Get the answer before you accept a branch you do not want.
What is Chandigarh University's actual B.E. fee for AY2026-27?
Not yet published as an updated figure. As of 20 August 2026, CU's official Mandatory Disclosure page is still headed 'Fee Per Semester (2025-26)' (โน95,000-1,46,000/semester by branch). A 2026-27 figure quoted elsewhere is not corroborated by CU's own document โ confirm your actual fee in writing at the time of admission.
Why does this page show two different placement numbers for the same 2022-23 batch?
Because CU's own NIRF filings disagree with each other. The NIRF 2024 submission records 2,311 students placed from the 2022-23 cohort; the NIRF 2025 submission records 1,064 placed from that same cohort. Both are official government filings on nirfindia.org, and we cannot reconcile them from the documents available โ so both figures are stated rather than one being silently chosen.
Is there an official CUCET cutoff rank for CSE at Chandigarh University?
No. There is no branch-wise closing rank published by CU anywhere we could locate, checked again 2026-08-20 โ CU allots its own seats with no public counselling authority to publish one. What IS published is the CUCET scholarship slab structure, which decides your fee waiver, not your branch eligibility.
Extended admission FAQs
How much does the CUCET scholarship actually save at Chandigarh University?
Per the official Phase I slabs: a 90.01%+ CUCET score gets a 100% tuition waiver, 80-90% gets 50%, 70-79.99% gets 40%, 60-69.99% gets 30%, and 50-59.99% gets 25%. Since CU's own B.E. CSE fee is โน1,46,000/semester (2025-26), a 50% waiver would save roughly โน73,000/semester โ but Phase II slabs are lower for the same score, so sitting Phase I is worth real money.
Does Chandigarh University's hostel fee have a stated academic session?
No. CU's own official hostel facility page lists annual charges (โน1,20,000 to โน2,20,000 by room category) without an academic-session label, checked again 2026-08-20. Treat these as the last-verified figures rather than confirmed AY2026-27 numbers, and the page does state charges rise roughly โน2,000/year for domestic students due to food inflation.
Why did we re-check Chandigarh University's fee page instead of trusting an aggregator's 2026-27 figure?
Because this site's sourcing rule treats aggregators (Collegedunia, Careers360, Shiksha, and similar sites) as inadmissible sources โ even when their claimed figures might turn out to be accurate. A direct fetch of CU's own Mandatory Disclosure page on 2026-08-20 confirmed it is still labelled 'Fee Per Semester (2025-26)', so that is what this page reports.
What percentage of Chandigarh University engineering graduates actually get placed?
Per CU's own NIRF 2025 filing, roughly 37% (1,087 of 2,933) for the 2023-24 cohort โ our arithmetic on the university's two official figures. A further 614 students went to higher studies the same year. Treat any higher percentage quoted to you with the same scrutiny applied to the discrepant 2022-23 placed-count discussed on this page.
Is Chandigarh University NBA accredited for all engineering branches?
CU's own recognitions and approvals page states all its engineering programmes are NBA-accredited, naming Mechanical, Electrical, Civil, Electronics & Communication, Mechatronics, Aerospace, Computer Science, Information Technology and Chemical Engineering specifically. NBA accreditation is time-and-programme specific, so confirm current validity for your exact branch on nbaind.org before relying on it.
How many CU campuses are there, and does it matter which one I'm offered?
Yes, it matters. CU's main campus is at Gharuan, Mohali, Punjab; a second campus operates at Unnao, Uttar Pradesh. Fee structures, accreditation status and placement figures may differ between campuses โ always check which campus your specific offer letter names before accepting.
Does Chandigarh University offer any seats without sitting CUCET?
Yes, one documented exemption: candidates scoring above 90% in their 10+2 board examination are exempted from sitting CUCET, per CU's official admission portal. No other exemption route is stated in the material we reviewed.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page โ the underlying research was already honest and well-sourced, including an unusually transparent choice to state a real cross-filing discrepancy in CU's own NIRF placement data rather than resolve it artificially. This rebuild adds the site's standard quickAnswer, key facts and FAQ structure, and re-verifies the AY2026-27 fee gap by fetching CU's Mandatory Disclosure page directly on 2026-08-20 โ confirming it is still unchanged from the 2025-26 cycle.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.