LPU: What It Is and Where It Stands
A large, private university at Phagwara with an overwhelmingly out-of-state engineering cohort.
Lovely Professional University (LPU) is a private university on the Jalandhar-Delhi G.T. Road at Phagwara, Punjab. Students search for it as "LPU Jalandhar", but the campus and the official postal address are in Phagwara: Lovely Professional University, Jalandhar-Delhi, G.T. Road, Phagwara, Punjab (INDIA) -144411.
What is verifiable from primary sources:
- Established 2005.
- Recognised under Section 2(f) and accorded recognition under Section 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956.
- NAAC accreditation grade A++, 3.68 on a 4-point scale (2026).
- NBA accreditation for B.Tech Computer Science & Engineering, Civil, Electronics & Communication and Mechanical, plus MBA, "for Academic Year 2024-25, 2025-26 and 2026-27, i.e., upto 30/06/2027".
- NIRF Engineering rank 50, score 54.16 (NIRF 2024); rank 48, score 55.99 (NIRF 2025).
Scale changes how you read everything that follows. LPU's own NIRF submission puts total UG four-year engineering student strength at 17,938, of whom 841 are from within Punjab, 16,541 from outside the state and 556 from outside India (NIRF 2026). This is a very large, overwhelmingly out-of-state engineering cohort, not a small single-campus department, and the averages it produces behave accordingly.
Admission Route: How You Actually Get a Seat
No external counselling authority โ direct admission on LPUNEST, JEE Main or CUET.
There is no external counselling authority for LPU. Unlike a Maharashtra CAP seat or a JoSAA/CSAB seat, you do not wait for a state or national allotment list โ LPU admits directly through its own portal, and the entrance requirement is met by LPUNEST, JEE (Main) or CUET, "subject to the fulfilment of the eligibility criteria".
Eligibility for B.Tech CSE is "60% aggregate marks in 10+2 (with Physics, Mathematics and English)" or equivalent. Relaxations are published for candidates from North-East states and Sikkim, defence personnel and their dependants, and wards of Kashmiri migrants; the percentage differs by programme, so read your specific programme page rather than a general one.
LPUNEST is a computer-based test taken either remotely proctored from home or at a test centre. The paper runs 150 minutes for 400 marks, with 25 questions each in Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics or Biology, and English, at 4 marks a question, and "there will be no negative marking for wrong answers or unanswered questions".
The published sequence is:
- Register on the LPUADMIT portal.
- Pay the test fee โ โน1,000 for soft-copy material or โน1,500 for the printed kit (AY2026-27).
- Book a slot, appear, receive scorecard and rank.
- Deposit โน10,000 initial payment, receive a Unique Candidate ID, upload documents.
- "Deposit the balance fee within the prescribed deadlines to complete your admission."
Further rounds run only if seats remain, so your real constraint is seat availability in the specialisation you want.
Fee Structure (What Is Officially Published)
LPU's own tuition-fee table is genuinely unreadable โ confirmed again by a direct page fetch.
LPU publishes its programme fee on the official Fee & Scholarship page and on each programme page, but those tables render as script-driven placeholders rather than readable text. We fetched the page directly again on 2026-08-20 and confirmed the raw HTML still contains only placeholder currency symbols ("โน /-") with no actual numbers behind the "Total Fee (Per Semester)", "Scholarship Amount" and "Fee after Scholarship" columns โ the real figures are injected by client-side JavaScript that this research could not execute. We could not read a tuition figure we are willing to print, so we will not estimate one, and we will not multiply a semester figure into a four-year total.
What is verified is the pricing structure. LPU prices B.Tech in separate buckets, not one flat fee:
- All branches and 2+2 International Credit Transfer, except CSE/IT
- CSE/IT and Integrated programmes
- AI, Robotics, Data Science and Emerging Technology
- Honours programmes
- Robotics and AI-ML programmes
- Next-Gen programmes
- Future Technology programmes (Gen AI)
The only fee amounts we could verify from the official site are entrance and booking payments, not tuition.
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| LPUNEST test fee (soft copy) | โน1,000 | AY2026-27, LPU official LPUNEST admission process page |
| LPUNEST test fee (printed kit) | โน1,500 | AY2026-27, LPU official LPUNEST admission process page |
| Initial payment at admission | โน10,000 | AY2026-27, LPU official LPUNEST admission process page |
| Programme fee, CSE/IT | Not readable from the official page (see note above) | LPU official Fee & Scholarship page |
| Programme fee, other branches | Not readable from the official page (see note above) | LPU official Fee & Scholarship page |
| Four-year total | Not published by LPU as a single figure | โ |
Scholarship is applied as a reduction on the programme fee and is decided by your LPUNEST category, so the sticker fee is rarely the paid fee. Ask for the current fee circular in writing before depositing anything โ a written circular, not a portal screen, is the only reliable way to get an actual number from LPU before you commit.
Cutoff Trends: How to Read Them
No branch-wise closing rank exists โ there is no counselling authority to publish one.
LPU does not publish branch-wise closing ranks, and that follows directly from the admission route above: with no external counselling authority there is no round-wise allotment list to publish. So the honest position for every branch is the same.
| What you might expect | What LPU actually publishes |
|---|---|
| Branch-wise closing rank or score | Not published |
| Round-wise cutoff movement | Not published |
| Category-wise closing rank | Not published |
The one published threshold is the LPUNEST scholarship cut-off, and LPU itself labels it tentative: Category A โ "Tentative cut-off is 300 Marks out of 400"; Category B โ "Tentative cut-off is 212 Marks out of 400"; Category C โ "Tentative cut-off is 150 Marks out of 400". These are scholarship bands, not admission cut-offs, and confusing the two is the most common mistake we see.
What genuinely moves at LPU is seat supply, not a cut-off.
| Academic year | Sanctioned UG (4-year) intake |
|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 6,095 |
| 2023-24 | 4,710 |
| 2024-25 | 3,595 |
(NIRF 2026) Sanctioned intake fell from 6,095 to 3,595 across two years. A specialisation that stayed open late in the cycle two years ago may close earlier now, so apply early if a specific specialisation is the point, and get the allotted specialisation confirmed in writing before you pay the balance.
Placements: What Is Verifiable
NIRF's own definition puts the median at โน8.36 lakh for the newest batch โ read it, not the top-decile CSE average.
The strongest verifiable placement data for LPU engineering is its own NIRF submission, because the format and the definitions are the government's rather than a marketing team's.
The median salary of placed UG engineering graduates was โน8,36,000 for the 2024-25 graduating batch (NIRF 2026).
| Graduating year | Graduated in minimum time | Placed | Median salary | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,099 | 3,508 | โน6,50,000 | 205 |
| 2023-24 | 3,891 | 2,754 | โน8,00,000 | 158 |
| 2024-25 | 2,896 | 2,633 | โน8,36,000 | 100 |
For CSE specifically, LPU's own School of CSE Placement Report 2026 publishes percentile averages for the 2024-25 batch: top 10% average CTC โน14,81,909; top 20% โน12,31,128; top 50% โน10,21,237 (2026).
Read the two together. The all-engineering median is โน8.36 lakh while the CSE top decile averages โน14.8 lakh โ the numbers that circulate come from the top slice, and by definition half of placed students sit below the median. Budget your loan against the median.
What LPU does not publish in a form we can verify, checked again 2026-08-20:
- Branch-wise median salary โ not published.
- Placement percentage against the full batch. The public placements page gives a percentage for students "interested and eligible for placements" with no batch year, so we do not treat that as a verifiable figure.
- Highest-package claims on the placements page carry student names but no batch year, so we do not reproduce them.
Hostel & Campus Life
LPU publishes hostel and mess charges openly โ more than most colleges in this segment do.
Residence is booked through the LPUADMIT portal alongside mess, laundry, transport and gym options, and LPU publishes the charges openly โ which is more than most colleges do. Charges below are for Academic Session 2026-27, shown as the Early Decision Benefit rate (till 31 July 2026) and the standard rate.
Hostel alone runs from โน70,000 to โน2,00,000 for 2026-27 depending on occupancy and room class (AY2026-27). The table below covers the 1โ4 seater standard and studio options; LPU also publishes cheaper 5/6/7/8-seater and 4x2-seater air-cooled rooms at โน70,000 early decision / โน80,000 standard.
| Room type | Early decision (โน) | Standard (โน) |
|---|---|---|
| 4-seater, air-cooled, standard | 83,000 | 93,000 |
| 4-seater, AC, standard | 93,000 | 1,03,000 |
| 3-seater, AC, standard | 1,13,000 | 1,23,000 |
| 2-seater, AC, standard | 1,33,000 | 1,43,000 |
| 1-seater, AC, standard | 1,53,000 | 1,63,000 |
| 1-seater, AC, studio apartment | 1,90,000 | 2,00,000 |
Mess is separate and annual (AY2026-27): vegetarian four meals โน50,000, three meals โน46,000, two meals โน42,000, a la carte four meals โน58,000. The non-vegetarian vendor charges โน75,000 for three meals, โน65,000 for two and โน55,000 for one.
Other verified basics: separate residential facility for boys and girls inside the campus; rooms furnished with a bed, almirah, study table, chair and a cooler or AC as opted; FSSAI-certified kitchens; and a free electricity allowance per session that varies by room type. Allotment happens after you report on campus and clear dues โ the Residential Reporting Slip updates in the University Management System, and the warden assigns the room against that slip.
How LPU Compares
LPU trades a public cutoff for admission speed and scale โ genuinely different, not simply cheaper or costlier.
Compare on the axis that actually decides your case, not on brand.
- Admission control. COEP Pune, VJTI Mumbai, PICT Pune and VIT Pune fill through Maharashtra's CAP counselling on an MHT-CET or JEE Main rank, with round-wise cutoffs published by the CET Cell. LPU admits directly on LPUNEST, JEE Main or CUET. If your rank is weak, LPU offers a route those four do not; if you want a public, auditable cutoff to measure yourself against, those four give you what LPU does not.
- Cohort scale. LPU's UG four-year engineering strength is 17,938 (NIRF 2026). The Pune and Mumbai institutes are single-campus departments an order of magnitude smaller. That changes class size, lab access, and how competitive internal placement registration feels.
- Location and recruiter access. COEP Pune, PICT Pune, VJTI Mumbai and VIT Pune sit inside the Pune-Mumbai corridor, where a large share of IT and core hiring happens and an off-campus interview is a local trip. LPU runs a large on-campus drive model in Punjab instead.
- Verified standing. NIRF 2025 placed LPU at rank 48 in Engineering, score 55.99. Compare that against each peer's own NIRF entry for the same year rather than against reputation โ some of these Maharashtra institutes sit in the same band, some do not appear at all.
- Fee. Do not compare from memory. Pull LPU's current fee circular in writing and the FRA-approved fee for the Maharashtra institute for the same session, and compare like with like, hostel and mess included.
Contact & address
Lovely Professional University, Jalandhar-Delhi, G.T. Road, Phagwara, Punjab (INDIA) - 144411
Frequently asked questions
Do I need to take LPUNEST if I already have a JEE Main score?
No. LPU's official LPUNEST B.Tech page states admission can be based on LPUNEST, JEE (Main) or CUET, subject to eligibility. You still register on the LPUADMIT portal and complete the same admission steps. LPUNEST matters separately because the scholarship categories are decided on the LPUNEST score, so sitting the test can change what you finally pay.
Are there counselling rounds at LPU like state CAP or JoSAA?
Not in that form. There is no external counselling authority for LPU โ you apply directly, and the university runs further rounds only if seats remain. That means no published round-wise allotment list and no freeze or float mechanism. The practical constraint is seat availability in your chosen specialisation, so applying early in the cycle matters more than a rank.
What documents do I need for LPU admission?
LPU's official admission process page lists a recent photograph, matriculation marksheet, qualifying examination certificate and address proof for upload after the initial payment. At campus reporting the university asks you to bring all original documents and certificates in a transparent folder for verification. Scanned uploads must be clear colour copies within the portal's stated size limit.
How is a hostel room allotted at LPU?
You book the residential facility through the LPUADMIT portal. After you report on campus and clear all dues, the Residential Reporting Slip updates automatically in the University Management System โ LPU's page says within about fifteen minutes. You then present that slip at your allotted hostel warden's office, and the warden makes the final room assignment.
Can I change my branch after joining LPU?
LPU handles programme changes through its Academic Affairs division against dates in the academic calendar, but we could not verify a specific published rule on lpu.in, so we will not state one. Ask the admissions office in writing, before you deposit the balance fee, what the window, eligibility and fee-difference conditions are for your programme.
Why doesn't this page show LPU's B.Tech tuition fee?
LPU's official Fee & Scholarship page loads its figures with client-side JavaScript, and as of 20 August 2026 the page source carries only placeholder currency symbols โ so there is no dated figure to reproduce here, and none is estimated from an aggregator. Ask LPU admissions for a written fee circular before paying anything.
What is the difference between the LPUNEST scholarship cutoff and an admission cutoff?
They are different things. LPU's tentative LPUNEST scholarship bands (roughly 300, 212 and 150 out of 400 for Categories A, B and C) decide how much fee waiver you get โ they are not a pass/fail admission threshold. Because there is no external counselling authority, LPU does not publish a branch-wise admission closing rank at all.
What is LPU's actual placement median, not the headline package?
The NIRF-filed UG engineering median was โน8,36,000 for the 2024-25 graduating batch, up from โน6,50,000 for 2022-23. LPU's own CSE Placement Report separately shows the top 10% of the 2024-25 CSE batch averaging โน14,81,909 โ that top-decile figure, not the median, is usually what circulates as a headline number.
Extended admission FAQs
Has LPU's sanctioned engineering intake been shrinking?
Yes, per its own NIRF submission: sanctioned UG four-year intake fell from 6,095 (2022-23) to 4,710 (2023-24) to 3,595 (2024-25). The filing does not state a reason; this page reports the figures as filed rather than speculating on the cause.
Does LPU's scholarship apply to hostel fees too?
The base content does not state this explicitly, and we could not verify it from the official Fee & Scholarship page (which is script-rendered and unreadable). Ask LPU admissions directly whether a LPUNEST-based scholarship reduces hostel and mess charges or only the programme tuition fee.
Why does LPU price B.Tech in separate fee 'buckets' instead of one flat rate?
LPU's own Fee & Scholarship page structures B.Tech into distinct pricing buckets โ CSE/IT and Integrated programmes, AI/Robotics/Data Science/Emerging Technology, Honours programmes, Next-Gen programmes, and Future Technology (Gen AI) programmes โ each priced differently. The specific numbers within each bucket could not be read from the official page; confirm your bucket's actual fee from a written circular.
How much does LPU hostel and mess cost together for a year?
For the cheapest published combination (5/6/7/8-seater air-cooled room at โน70,000 early decision, plus the cheapest two-meal vegetarian mess at โน42,000), the annual total is roughly โน1,12,000 (AY2026-27, our arithmetic on LPU's published figures). At the most expensive combination shown on this page (1-seater AC studio at โน2,00,000 standard, plus non-vegetarian three-meal mess at โน75,000), it is โน2,75,000.
Is LPU's placement median rising or is it volatile?
Genuinely rising across the three years in LPU's own NIRF submission: โน6,50,000 (2022-23), โน8,00,000 (2023-24), โน8,36,000 (2024-25). Note the placed count fell from 3,508 to 2,633 over the same span even as the median rose โ read both numbers together, not the median alone.
Does a strong LPUNEST score guarantee my preferred branch at LPU?
No. LPUNEST decides your scholarship band, and seat availability at the time you complete admission decides your branch, since there is no external counselling authority and no published branch-wise cutoff. A high score improves your fee, not a guaranteed branch โ confirm your allotted branch in writing before paying the balance fee.
Where can I verify LPU's placement figures myself?
The UG engineering table on this page is sourced from LPU's own data submission to NIRF (National Institutional Ranking Framework, Ministry of Education), searchable on nirfindia.org. The CSE-specific percentile figures come from LPU's own published School of CSE Placement Report 2026 โ both are primary documents, not aggregator estimates.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page โ the underlying research was already honest and well-sourced. This rebuild adds the site's standard quickAnswer, key facts and FAQ structure. A fresh direct fetch of LPU's tuition-fee page (2026-08-20) confirmed the figures remain genuinely unreadable due to client-side JavaScript rendering โ the same finding as the base content โ so that gap is preserved as honest prose rather than filled with an aggregator estimate.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.