Bennett University: What It Is and Where It Stands
A state private university with its own degrees, a single 68-acre campus, and no AKTU affiliation or state counselling seat.
Bennett University is a state private university in Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh. It was created under U.P. Ordinance No. 1 of 2016, gazetted 07 August 2016, and then established by the Bennett University, Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh Act, 2016 (U.P. Act 24 of 2016), gazetted 16 September 2016 (Bennett University's proforma submission to the UGC for state private universities). The UGC's own state-wise list of private universities, as on 25.11.2022, carries it at entry 370 against the date 16.09.2016.
The university is sponsored by Bennett Institute of Higher Education, a not-for-profit company registered under Section 8 of the Companies Act, 2013. Its territorial jurisdiction is the whole of Uttar Pradesh, and the same UGC filing records no off-campus centre, no off-shore campus and no distance-education programme.
What that legal status means in practice for an applicant:
- It awards its own degrees. It is not affiliated to AKTU or to any other affiliating university, so its syllabus, examinations and results are its own.
- Engineering sits in three schools per the current official site: School of Computer Science Engineering & Technology (CSE and its dual-degree/global variants), School of Artificial Intelligence, and School of Engineering & Applied Sciences (ECE, Electronics & Computer Engineering, Mechanical, Engineering Physics, Biotechnology).
- The campus is a single contiguous site of 68.03 acres (275,390 sq m) leased from the Greater Noida Industrial Development Authority.
We could not verify a current NAAC grade or NBA programme accreditation from the accrediting bodies' own published lists, so this page states none. Ask the admissions office to show you the certificate itself.
Admission Route: How You Actually Get a Seat
A major correction: Bennett's current official selection criteria are Class XII merit-based, not JEE Main.
This section corrects an outdated framing. Bennett University's own 2017-18 UGC filing recorded JEE Main as the 100% selection basis for B.Tech at that time. Checking the university's current official eligibility-and-selection-criteria page directly (bennett.edu.in/admission/eligibility-and-selection-criteria/, verified 2026-08-20), the stated criteria for every B.Tech branch โ Computer Science Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, Electronics & Communication, Electronics & Computer Engineering, Mechanical, Engineering Physics, Biotechnology โ are now:
| Criterion | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Eligibility (Indian boards) | Passed Class XII from any recognised board with Physics and Mathematics plus any other non-vocational third subject, minimum 55% marks |
| Eligibility (IB Board) | Minimum score of 24 credits, 3 Higher Level and 3 Standard Level subjects |
| Eligibility (NRI applicants) | 55% aggregate in Class XII / A-Level or equivalent (with Physics and Mathematics), plus the university's English language requirement |
| Selection basis | Merit of Class XII "Best of 3" score โ Physics and Mathematics compulsory, plus the highest-scoring non-vocational third subject (Music, Dance, Painting, Home Science and similar vocational subjects excluded) |
No JEE Main score, percentile or any other entrance test is stated as a requirement or an alternate route on this official page for B.Tech. If a counsellor tells you JEE Main is required at Bennett, ask them to show you where โ the university's own live eligibility page does not say so, and we could not find it stated anywhere else on the official site.
What this means practically: admission is a direct, rolling process rather than a counselling-round process. There is no state quota and no domicile advantage, and โ per the university's UGC filing, a structural point unlikely to have changed โ no management-quota seats. SC/ST candidates and candidates from Jammu and Kashmir were historically shortlisted at a cut-off 10% below the general-category threshold; whether that relaxation still applies to the current Class-XII-merit criteria should be confirmed in writing with admissions before you rely on it.
Because private-university admission criteria change from cycle to cycle โ as this correction itself demonstrates โ treat these criteria as they stood on 20 August 2026, and reconfirm it on the official page before you apply.
Fee Structure (What Is Officially Published)
Bennett's official AY2026-27 fee page publishes a full per-branch, per-year tuition schedule.
AY2026-27 four-year B.Tech tuition ranges from โน14,90,000 (ECE, Mechanical, Engineering Physics, Biotechnology) to โน18,55,000 gross (Artificial Intelligence), per the official fee page.
| Branch | Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 4 | 4-Year Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science Engineering | โน3,80,000 | โน3,90,000 | โน4,00,000 | โน4,00,000 | โน15,70,000 |
| Electronics & Communication / Electronics & Computer / Mechanical / Engineering Physics / Biotechnology | โน3,60,000 | โน3,70,000 | โน3,80,000 | โน3,80,000 | โน14,90,000 |
| Artificial Intelligence (Gross) | โน4,50,000 | โน4,60,000 | โน4,72,500 | โน4,72,500 | โน18,55,000 |
| Artificial Intelligence (Net, under stated "AI Fee Advantage") | โน4,25,000 | โน4,10,000 | โน4,00,000 | โน3,85,000 | โน16,20,000 |
The official page notes the AI Fee Advantage is offered "on a first-come, first-served basis" alongside merit scholarship and is explicitly stated as limited-seat โ confirm current eligibility and seat availability before assuming it applies to you. Every branch's fee is marked "subject to revision with the new academic year as per Bennett University policy," so budget from the live page for the year you actually apply in, not from this snapshot.
On top of tuition, the official fee page lists these charges (same across B.Tech branches):
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Registration fee (one-time) | โน45,000 |
| Security deposit (one-time, refundable) | โน30,000 |
| Examination charges (per year, 2 instalments of โน6,000 each) | โน12,000 |
| Co-curricular charges (per year) | โน3,000 |
| Degree digitalisation charge (one-time) | โน2,500 |
| Alumni charge (one-time) | โน1,500 |
| Sports charges, day scholars only (per year, 2 instalments of โน13,000 each) | โน26,000 |
Transport is priced by distance from the university, billed per semester โ check the current rate table on the official fee page against your pickup point before committing. Bennett's own 2016-17 filing also recorded a Chancellor's Scholarship of โน50,000/year for its first B.Tech batch and merit/need-based waivers described separately; ask admissions in writing what the equivalent scholarship offer is for AY2026-27 before you pay any acceptance deposit.
Selection Criteria: How to Read Them
There is no closing rank to read โ the filter is a Class XII 'Best of 3' merit score, and no minimum threshold is published for the current cycle.
With Bennett's current criteria being Class XII "Best of 3" merit rather than an entrance-test score, there is no round-wise, category-wise closing-rank table the way there is for a JoSAA or state-CET seat โ and no minimum percentage threshold for the current cycle is published on the pages we could access.
What the official eligibility page states as the floor: a minimum 55% aggregate in Class XII with Physics and Mathematics plus a non-vocational third subject (see the Admission Route section above for the full table). Selection above that floor is described as merit-based on the "Best of 3" score, but the university does not publish the actual score band that was admitted in the most recently completed cycle โ the kind of number a JoSAA or state-CET opening/closing rank table would give you.
Historical context, for scale only: Bennett's 2016-17 and 2017-18 UGC filings recorded that JEE Main was the primary route at the time, with 91.4% (2016-17) and 81.6% (2017-18) of admitted B.Tech students entering through it. That data point no longer describes the current process โ see the correction in the Admission Route section โ and is included here only so a reader who has seen an older cutoff reference understands why it no longer applies.
Qualifying Class XII score actually admitted for AY2026-27, and any branch-wise variation in that threshold: not published on any official page we could access, checked again 2026-08-20. Ask the admissions office in writing for the Best-of-3 score range actually admitted in the most recent completed cycle, and keep the reply on email before you rely on it for your own planning.
Placements: What Is Verifiable
Bennett's own placement-highlights page gives real, dated B.Tech figures โ but no median or average salary.
Bennett's B.Tech top-10-percentile package was โน25.8 LPA in 2025, and the highest package achieved to date is โน62 lakh domestic (2025) or โน1.37 crore international (2023) โ read the top-decile figure, not the single highest offer, as the realistic ceiling.
| Metric | Figure |
|---|---|
| Highest package achieved to date โ international | โน1.37 crore (achieved 2023) |
| Highest package achieved to date โ domestic | โน62 LPA (achieved 2025) |
| Top 10 percentile package | โน25.8 LPA (achieved 2025) |
| Highest domestic internship stipend | โน1.25 LPM (achieved 2025) |
| Recruiters hiring from Bennett annually (university-wide) | 860+ |
| Companies offering packages above โน20 lakh (past 3 years) | 50+ |
The university's separate placement-highlights page adds a university-wide (all programmes, not B.Tech-only) 3-year record:
| Batch year | Companies visited | Companies offering 20+ LPA | Companies offering 10+ LPA |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 463 | 27 | 115 |
| 2024 | 527 | 25 | 133 |
| 2025 | 715 | 42 | 91 |
These figures are dated and traceable to Bennett's own pages, which is more than the base filing could offer โ the university's 2017-18 UGC submission predates its first graduating batch and carries no placement statistics at all. But two real gaps remain, checked again for this rebuild: no median salary and no average salary are published anywhere official for B.Tech, and the batch-wise records above are university-wide rather than broken out by branch. Do not build your fee-recovery maths on the โน62 lakh or โน1.37 crore headline figures โ those are single-offer outliers by definition. The โน25.8 LPA top-decile figure is the more honest ceiling, and even that describes the top 10%, not a typical outcome.
What to ask for, and what to refuse: ask for a branch-wise table with three columns โ students eligible and registered, students placed, and median CTC, with the graduating year printed on it. Refuse an average quoted without a denominator and a highest package quoted without the number of offers at that level.
Hostel & Campus Life
AY2026-27 hostel fee is published: โน1,70,000/year triple sharing, rising up to 7% annually.
The official fee page states AY2026-27 hostel cost at โน1,70,000 per annum for triple sharing, with a twin-sharing option at โน2,25,000 per annum where offered, and an annual increase of up to 7%.
The university's UGC filing records 68.03 acres of contiguous land leased from the Greater Noida Industrial Development Authority, with 41,530 sq m of built-up area completed at the time of filing, laid out as:
- an academic and administration block with laboratories, workshop and server rooms
- a residential wing carrying the girls' hostel, cafeteria and tuck shop, and a health centre
- a service block with the kitchen, laundry, chiller plant and generator room
- a boys' hostel built as two wings, with common and warden rooms on the ground floor
- a sports complex of 2,883 sq m
| Room type | Annual fee |
|---|---|
| Triple sharing (on campus) | โน1,70,000 |
| Twin sharing (on campus, where offered) | โน2,25,000 |
The fee page states this is subject to an annual increase of up to 7% โ budget for escalation across your four years, not a flat number. Whether the tariff includes mess charges is not stated in the text we could extract from the fee page; confirm this in writing before paying. For hostel matters the university's UGC filing sets out a defined escalation path, from the hostel warden and head of administration to the Dean of Students' Affairs and then the Vice Chancellor โ worth knowing before you need it.
Confirm each of these in writing, because none is stated on the pages we could access: whether AC and non-AC tiers are priced differently, mess plan options, whether first-year students must live in, and which one-time charges are billed separately from the annual tariff.
How Bennett University Compares
Bennett trades entrance-exam pressure for Class XII merit and private fees โ a genuinely different admission bet than a CET or JEE college.
Compare by decision axis rather than by league table.
- Cost versus certainty. COEP Pune and VJTI Mumbai are long-established government institutes reached through state counselling at government fee levels. Bennett is a private university where you pay private fees but apply directly on your own timeline, without an entrance-exam score or a counselling round.
- Predictability of entry. PICT Pune and VJTI Mumbai publish closing ranks through a counselling authority, so you can estimate your chances before you apply. At Bennett, the criteria are now a Class XII "Best of 3" merit score with no published closing threshold โ different uncertainty, not less of it.
- Domicile. COEP Pune, PICT Pune, VJTI Mumbai and VIT Pune all favour Maharashtra domicile candidates through the home-state quota. Bennett has no state quota at all, which is exactly why it appeals to a candidate with no home-state advantage.
- Track record versus facilities. PICT Pune and COEP Pune carry decades of alumni depth and recruiter familiarity. Bennett's first B.Tech batch entered in 2016-17, and its pitch is a purpose-built 68-acre campus and a growing recruiter count (715 companies visiting in 2025, per its own placement-highlights page) rather than history.
- Location. Greater Noida puts you inside the Delhi NCR employer belt, while VIT Pune and PICT Pune put you inside Pune's IT and engineering cluster. For internships during the degree, that geography matters more than most families expect.
If cost is the binding constraint, work the state-counselling options first. If you have no home-state advantage, a strong Class XII record rather than a strong entrance-exam score, and want the decision closed early on your own timeline, Bennett is a reasonable trade to weigh.
Contact & address
Bennett University, Plot Nos. 8-11, Tech Zone II, Near Dabra Village, Greater Noida 201310, Uttar Pradesh, India. Phone 0120-7199300.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need JEE Main to get into Bennett University's B.Tech programme?
No, per the university's current official eligibility-and-selection-criteria page (verified 2026-08-20). Selection for every B.Tech branch is based on Class XII 'Best of 3' merit โ Physics and Mathematics compulsory plus your best non-vocational third subject, minimum 55% aggregate. This is a change from the university's own 2017-18 UGC filing, which recorded JEE Main as the selection basis at that time; confirm the current criteria on the official page before applying.
How do I apply to Bennett University โ is it through JoSAA or Uttar Pradesh state counselling?
No. JoSAA and CSAB allocate seats only in the IITs, NITs, IIITs and centrally funded institutes, and UP state counselling covers affiliated colleges. Bennett grants its own degrees and runs its own direct admission process based on Class XII merit, so you apply directly to the university on a rolling basis. There is no state quota and no domicile benefit.
What is Bennett University's B.Tech fee for AY2026-27?
Per the official fee page: โน14,90,000 over 4 years for Electronics & Communication, Electronics & Computer, Mechanical, Engineering Physics and Biotechnology; โน15,70,000 for Computer Science Engineering; and โน18,55,000 gross (โน16,20,000 net under a stated 'AI Fee Advantage') for Artificial Intelligence. Add a one-time โน45,000 registration fee and โน30,000 refundable security deposit. All figures are marked subject to annual revision.
What documents should I keep ready for Bennett University admission?
Keep your Class 10 and Class 12 marksheets and passing certificates, school transfer certificate, migration certificate, character certificate, category certificate if claiming any relaxation, Aadhaar, photographs and every fee receipt. Bennett issues its own verification checklist with the offer letter, so match your set against that list rather than a generic one.
How does hostel allotment work at Bennett University, and what does it cost?
The university's UGC filing records separate on-campus hostels for men and women, with wardens and a defined grievance path through the Dean of Students' Affairs. The AY2026-27 official fee page states โน1,70,000 per annum for triple sharing (โน2,25,000 for twin sharing where offered), rising up to 7% annually. Room-sharing tiers and whether first-year residence is compulsory are not stated on the pages we could access โ confirm in writing before you accept the offer.
What is Bennett University's actual B.Tech placement record?
The university's own placement-highlights and placements-across-programs pages report a B.Tech top-10-percentile package of โน25.8 LPA (2025), highest domestic package โน62 LPA (2025), and highest international package โน1.37 crore (2023). No median or average B.Tech salary and no branch-wise breakdown are published anywhere official โ treat the top-decile figure, not the headline highest package, as the realistic ceiling.
Can I change my branch after the first year at Bennett University?
Branch change at a private university is an internal academic rule, not a counselling entitlement. It usually depends on first-year CGPA and vacancy in the target branch, and it is written into the university's academic ordinances, which Bennett states are published on its website. Read that ordinance before you accept a branch you did not want, and never rely on a verbal assurance given at admission time.
Is there a minimum Class XII percentage that guarantees admission to Bennett University?
The published eligibility floor is 55% aggregate in Class XII with Physics and Mathematics plus a non-vocational third subject โ but that is an eligibility floor, not a guarantee. Selection above that floor is merit-based on your Best-of-3 score, and the actual score band admitted in the most recent completed cycle is not published on the pages we could access. Ask admissions in writing for that range before assuming your score is competitive.
Extended admission FAQs
Why does this page say Bennett doesn't require JEE Main when other sources say it does?
As of 20 August 2026, Bennett's selection basis for every B.Tech branch is Class XII 'Best of 3' merit, with no JEE Main requirement. The university's 2017-18 UGC filing recorded JEE Main as the basis at that earlier time โ the criteria have since changed. If you have seen a source stating JEE Main is required, it is likely describing the older process; confirm directly with admissions before relying on it.
What is the 'AI Fee Advantage' at Bennett University?
A stated discount on the B.Tech Artificial Intelligence programme's gross tuition, reducing the 4-year total from โน18,55,000 to a net โน16,20,000, per the official fee page. It is described as offered alongside merit scholarship, on a first-come, first-served basis, with limited seats โ confirm current eligibility and availability with admissions before assuming it applies to you.
Does Bennett University offer a scholarship for high Class XII scores?
The university's 2016-17 UGC filing recorded a Chancellor's Scholarship of โน50,000 per year for its first B.Tech batch, plus merit and need-based waivers. We could not locate a detailed, current scholarship schedule tied to specific Class XII score bands on the pages we accessed for AY2026-27 โ ask admissions in writing for the current scholarship policy before you pay any acceptance deposit.
What is Bennett University's B.Tech CSE fee compared to other branches?
CSE costs โน15,70,000 over 4 years (AY2026-27) โ higher than ECE, Mechanical, Engineering Physics and Biotechnology at โน14,90,000 each, but lower than Artificial Intelligence's โน18,55,000 gross tuition.
How many companies visit Bennett University for placements?
715 companies visited in 2025, up from 527 in 2024 and 463 in 2023, per the university's own placement-highlights page โ university-wide, across all programmes, not B.Tech alone.
Is Bennett University's B.Tech programme NBA accredited?
We could not verify a current NBA accreditation status for any Bennett B.Tech programme from NBA's own published lists, checked 2026-08-20. Ask the admissions office to show the certificate directly if this matters to your decision.
Does Bennett University have a management quota for B.Tech?
No, per the university's own UGC filing, which states it does not provide any seat under a management quota. This is a structural fact from the filing, not something we expect to have changed, but confirm current policy with admissions if you are told otherwise.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page โ the underlying research was honest but built almost entirely on Bennett's 2016-17/2017-18 UGC filing, with every current-year figure marked as a missing-figure gap. This rebuild replaces those gaps with current, dated figures fetched directly from bennett.edu.in on 2026-08-20 (fee, placements, hostel), and corrects a structural error carried over from the old filing: admission is no longer JEE-Main-based, it is Class XII merit-based. Genuine remaining gaps โ median/average B.Tech salary, a published closing merit score, current sanctioned intake โ are stated as honest prose rather than filled with aggregator numbers.
๐ Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.