Detailed MIT-WPU B.Tech admission routes
MIT-WPU is a self-affiliating private university admitting via JEE Main, MHT-CET, or its own MIT-WPU CET, each requiring a 500-word Statement of Purpose alongside the score.
MIT-WPU is registered as a private university under a Maharashtra State Act — this is a structurally different admission model from the CAP-affiliated engineering colleges elsewhere on this site. It is not affiliated to VTU or SPPU; it designs its own curriculum and awards its own degree, per its own Admission Policy 2026-27.
| Route | What is required | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| JEE Main 2026 | Valid percentile + 500-word Statement of Purpose (SOP) | All standard B.Tech branches |
| MHT-CET 2026 | Valid percentile + 500-word SOP | All standard B.Tech branches |
| MIT-WPU CET 2026 | University's own online Computer-Based Test (CBT) + SOP | All standard B.Tech branches; sole route for B.Tech-after-10th (Diploma+Degree) track, combined with Personal Interaction |
| MHT-CET-B / NEET 2026 | Valid percentile/score + SOP | Bioengineering only |
The application itself costs ₹2,000, paid online, non-refundable under any circumstances. Minimum eligibility for standard B.Tech: 50% aggregate in Class 12/HSC with English compulsory, plus 50% in PCM (or Physics+Maths+a technical-vocational subject, or PCB for Bioengineering only) — 45% for Maharashtra-domiciled reserved-category candidates. The 40% Maharashtra-domicile reservation the earlier draft claimed does not appear anywhere in the official policy and has been dropped from this page.
Fees and seats by branch (2026-27)
MIT-WPU's own Annexure 2 fee table gives an exact annual fee and sanctioned intake for every one of its 17 B.Tech branches — the real total is 1,890 seats, not the 2,424 an earlier draft claimed.
| Branch | Intake | Annual fee | 4-year total (fee × 4, not inflated with any other charge) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 420 | ₹4,10,000 | ₹16,40,000 |
| CSE (Artificial Intelligence & Data Science) | 300 | ₹4,10,000 | ₹16,40,000 |
| CSE (Cloud Computing) | 60 | ₹4,10,000 | ₹16,40,000 |
| CSE (Cyber Security & Forensics) | 60 | ₹4,10,000 | ₹16,40,000 |
| Bioengineering | 120 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Chemical Engineering | 60 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | 60 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| ECE (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning) | 120 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Electronics (Semiconductor and VLSI Design) | 60 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 120 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 120 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering (Robotics and Automation) | 120 | ₹3,65,000 | ₹14,60,000 |
| Civil Engineering | 60 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹12,00,000 |
| Civil Engineering (Smart Infrastructure & Construction) | 60 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹12,00,000 |
| Materials Science and Engineering | 30 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹12,00,000 |
| Petroleum Engineering | 60 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹12,00,000 |
| Renewable Energy Engineering | 60 | ₹3,00,000 | ₹12,00,000 |
| Total regular intake | 1,890 | — | |
This total checks itself. Summing all 17 rows' intake gives exactly 1,890 — the university's own published branch-wise figures, not an estimate. The 4-year total column is the annual fee multiplied by 4 with no other charge folded in (L4(b) — MIT-WPU's own policy states the same fee applies "for the entire duration of the Programme").
MIT-WPU also runs a smaller Direct Second Year/Lateral Entry B.Tech intake (for diploma holders, 3-6 seats per branch typically, at a slightly higher fee than the regular first-year rate) and a separate "B.Tech after 10th" 6-year (3-year Diploma + 3-year Degree) track in 6 branches, admitted via MIT-WPU CET plus Personal Interaction — both run parallel to the numbers above, not counted in the 1,890 regular-intake total.
Scholarships — exact percentile cutoffs by branch
MIT-WPU publishes three merit scholarship tiers with exact JEE/MHT-CET percentile thresholds for every B.Tech branch group — Computer Science branches need the highest percentiles.
MIT-WPU runs three merit-based fee-waiver tiers university-wide: the Dr. Vishwanath Karad Scholarship (100% fee waiver, 5% of total intake, 455 seats university-wide), MIT-WPU Scholarship I (50% waiver, 10% of intake, 909 seats), and MIT-WPU Scholarship II (25% waiver, 12% of intake, 1,091 seats). For B.Tech, eligibility is set by JEE Main or MHT-CET percentile, grouped by branch:
| Branch group | 100% waiver (JEE / MHT-CET) | 50% waiver (JEE / MHT-CET) | 25% waiver (JEE / MHT-CET) |
|---|---|---|---|
| CSE, CSE-AI&DS, CSE-Cyber Security, CSE-Cloud Computing, Bioengineering | 97 / 98 | 96 / 97 | 95 / 96 |
| ECE, ECE-AI&ML, Electronics-VLSI, Electrical & Computer, Mechanical, Mechanical-Robotics | 94 / 95 | 92 / 93 | 91 / 92 |
| Chemical, Petroleum, Renewable Energy | 90 / 91 | 88 / 89 | 87 / 88 |
| Civil, Civil-Smart Infrastructure, Materials Science | 89 / 90 | 87 / 88 | 86 / 87 |
Scholarships are awarded strictly first-come-first-served within each slab, are not paid in cash (adjusted directly against fees), and continuation requires maintaining a minimum CGPA of 8.0 (6.0 for international categories) with no active backlogs and at least 80% attendance every year. Missing any of these forfeits the scholarship for that year and all subsequent years.
Refund and cancellation policy
MIT-WPU's own fee-refund schedule is tiered by how many days after course commencement a withdrawal request is made — full refund only if withdrawn before classes start.
| Withdrawal timing | Refund |
|---|---|
| Before commencement of the programme | Full fee refunded, minus ₹1,000 processing fee |
| Within 10 days of commencement | 90% of academic-year fee refunded (10% deducted) |
| 11-20 days after commencement | 80% refunded (20% deducted) |
| 21-30 days after commencement | 50% refunded |
| After 30 days from commencement | No refund |
Application fees, entrance-exam fees and other levies are never refundable under any of the above. For instalment-plan students, a late-payment penalty of ₹250/day applies from day 16 onward (capped at ₹11,250), with academic access — attendance, labs, formative assessment — blocked during the penalty window; admission is cancelled outright if fees remain unpaid past 60 days.
Placements
MIT-WPU's own placement page states 2,430 placed and 2,657 offers for the ongoing 2026 cycle — but this figure spans all faculties (Engineering, Management, Pharmacy, Design, Law), not B.Tech alone.
MIT-WPU's own placement statistics page states, for the 2026 cycle (marked ongoing at capture):
| Metric | Figure |
|---|---|
| Students placed | 2,430 |
| Total offers | 2,657 |
| Companies visited | 750+ |
| Highest CTC | ₹46.00 LPA |
| Average CTC | ₹6.30 LPA |
| Premium offers (₹10+ LPA) | 200+ |
What this page will not claim: this is a university-wide figure spanning the Faculty of Engineering & Technology alongside Business & Leadership, Science & Health Science, and Design/Arts/Humanities. MIT-WPU's own site does not isolate a B.Tech-only placement rate, average or median, and this page does not estimate one from the combined figure. Named recruiters on the same page include Nvidia, Larsen & Toubro, IBM, Cognizant, TCS, Tech Mahindra, Hindustan Unilever, JP Morgan, EY, Deloitte, Wipro, Amazon, Capgemini, Morgan Stanley, Oracle and Infosys among the 750+ total.
Common mistakes that cost MIT-WPU applicants money or a seat
Most errors come from treating MIT-WPU like a CAP college (it isn't) or missing the exact scholarship percentile for a specific branch group.
| The mistake | Why it misleads | What to read instead |
|---|---|---|
| Assuming MIT-WPU seats are filled via Maharashtra CAP | MIT-WPU is a private university with its own admission process (JEE/MHT-CET/MIT-WPU CET scores accepted, but the seat allotment itself is the university's own merit process, not a CAP round). | Admission routes section above; apply directly through mitwpu.edu.in |
| Assuming the same scholarship percentile applies to every B.Tech branch | The cutoff for a 100% waiver ranges from 89th percentile (Civil) to 97th percentile (Computer Science) depending on branch group — a percentile that wins a full waiver in one branch may win nothing in another. | The Scholarships table above — check your specific branch group |
| Assuming a 4-year fee total includes hostel or other charges | The 4-year totals in the Fees table are tuition only (annual fee × 4), matching the university's own "same fee for the entire duration" statement — hostel, mess and other charges are separate and not sourced on this page. | Confirm hostel/mess charges directly with MIT-WPU |
| Missing the fee instalment deadline | A ₹250/day penalty starts on day 16 after the due date, and admission is cancelled outright after 60 days — academic access is blocked well before that point. | The Refund and cancellation policy section above |
| Treating the 2,430-placed figure as a B.Tech-specific placement rate | It is a university-wide figure across Engineering, Management, Pharmacy, Design and Law — not isolated by faculty. | The Placements section above |
Documents checklist (CAP reporting)
Missing a single original can cost the seat at reporting. The definitive list each cycle is the annexure of the State CET Cell's own Information Brochure — confirm there before you travel. The standard set:
- MHT-CET / JEE Main scorecard (whichever route you are admitted through)
- SSC (10th) and HSC (12th) marksheets — originals plus photocopies
- School / College Leaving Certificate
- Maharashtra Domicile Certificate (for state-quota seats)
- Nationality Certificate, or valid Indian passport, or birth certificate stating nationality
- Aadhaar card
- Caste Certificate + Caste Validity Certificate (reserved categories)
- Non-Creamy Layer Certificate valid for the current financial year (OBC / SBC / VJNT)
- EWS Eligibility Certificate (if claiming the EWS quota)
- Income Certificate (needed for TFWS and most scholarships)
- Gap Certificate (if there is a gap year after HSC)
- CAP allotment letter and seat-acceptance receipt (at reporting)
- Passport-size photographs
Contact & address
Dr. Vishwanath Karad MIT World Peace University, Survey No. 124, Paud Road, Kothrud, Pune, Maharashtra 411038
Frequently asked questions
Is MIT-WPU part of Maharashtra CAP admission?
No. MIT-WPU is a private university with its own admission process. It accepts JEE Main, MHT-CET or its own MIT-WPU CET scores, but seat allotment runs through the university's own merit process, not the state CAP counselling rounds used by CAP-affiliated colleges.
How many B.Tech seats does MIT-WPU have, and in how many branches?
The official 2026-27 Admission Policy lists 17 B.Tech branches with a combined regular first-year intake of 1,890 seats. Computer Science and Engineering is the largest single branch at 420 seats; Materials Science and Engineering is the smallest at 30.
What is the MIT-WPU B.Tech fee for 2026-27?
It varies by branch: ₹3,00,000/year for Civil Engineering, Civil (Smart Infrastructure), Materials Science, Petroleum and Renewable Energy; ₹3,65,000/year for Bioengineering, Chemical, Electrical & Computer, Electronics/ECE variants, and Mechanical variants; ₹4,10,000/year for Computer Science and Engineering and its three specialisations (AI & Data Science, Cloud Computing, Cyber Security & Forensics). A 4-year B.Tech therefore totals ₹12L to ₹16.4L before any scholarship.
What percentile do I need for a MIT-WPU scholarship?
It depends on your branch group. For Computer Science branches, 97th JEE (or 98th MHT-CET) percentile secures a full 100% fee waiver; for Civil/Materials Science branches, the same waiver needs only 89th (or 90th) percentile. Lower tiers (50% and 25% waivers) have correspondingly lower thresholds — check the specific branch-group table on this page.
What is the MIT-WPU 2026 cutoff or closing rank?
MIT-WPU does not publish a public closing rank/cutoff list the way CAP colleges do, since it runs its own admission process rather than a public counselling round. It does publish exact scholarship percentile thresholds by branch, which this page reproduces in full.
What do MIT-WPU's own placement figures show?
The university's own placement page states 2,430 students placed and 2,657 offers for the 2026 cycle (ongoing), with a highest package of ₹46 LPA and an average of ₹6.30 LPA. This figure covers all faculties — Engineering, Management, Pharmacy, Design and Law together — not B.Tech alone, and this page does not estimate an engineering-only breakdown.
What happens if I withdraw my MIT-WPU admission?
MIT-WPU's own refund schedule gives a full refund (minus ₹1,000 processing fee) only if you withdraw before classes commence. Refunds drop to 90%, 80% and 50% at successive 10-day windows after commencement, and to zero after 30 days. Application and entrance-exam fees are never refundable.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
An earlier draft used unverifiable superlative language and an incorrect seat count (2,424, not matching any official document). It has been fully replaced with figures transcribed directly from MIT-WPU's own 101-page Admission Policy 2026-27, which gives an exact, self-checking total of 1,890 regular B.Tech seats.
Extended admission FAQs
Does MIT-WPU accept PERA-CET for B.Tech?
Yes — for the B.Tech-after-10th (3-year Diploma + 3-year Degree) track specifically, admission runs through the MIT-WPU CET plus Personal Interaction. For standard B.Tech, PERA-CET is not listed among the accepted routes in the official Annexure 1 table; JEE Main, MHT-CET and MIT-WPU CET are.
What is the MIT-WPU B.Tech application fee?
A non-refundable ₹2,000, covering the entrance examination and/or admission processing, paid online at the time of application.
Is there a domicile-based seat reservation at MIT-WPU?
The official Admission Policy 2026-27 does not state a blanket Maharashtra-domicile seat reservation for B.Tech admission; it does apply a lower minimum-marks threshold (45% vs 50%) for Maharashtra-domiciled candidates in reserved categories. An earlier draft's claim of a flat 40% domicile reservation was not found in the official document and has been dropped.
How does the MIT-WPU Direct Second Year (lateral entry) B.Tech route work?
Diploma holders with a minimum 60% aggregate (55% for Maharashtra reserved category) in a relevant engineering diploma from 2023-24, 2024-25 or 2025-26 can apply for direct second-year entry, admitted on diploma score plus a 500-word Statement of Purpose. Seats and fees for this track are listed separately in the official fee table, slightly smaller in intake and marginally lower in fee than the regular first-year track.
What documents does MIT-WPU require at admission?
The official policy lists compulsory documents (10th and qualifying mark sheets, Aadhaar, APAAR ID, Leaving/Transfer Certificate, Migration Certificate where applicable) plus conditional documents (domicile certificate, category certificate, entrance scorecard) — submitted online and offline by fixed deadlines (August 31, 2026 for UG, with a penalty-bearing extension to September 30, 2026).
Can I lose my MIT-WPU scholarship after admission?
Yes. Continuation requires a minimum CGPA of 8.0 (6.0 for international/OCI/NRI categories) every year with no live backlogs, at least 80% attendance (75% for international students), and no disciplinary violations. Falling short of any condition forfeits the scholarship for that year and all subsequent years.
Does MIT-WPU offer an All-India or international quota?
MIT-WPU accepts JEE Main scores (an all-India exam) as one of its three standard admission routes, so there is no separate "All-India quota" the way CAP colleges structure it. A separate International Candidate category (Foreign Nationals, OCI, CIWGC/CIWSEA, NRI) exists with its own eligibility and fee structure, detailed in the official policy's Annexure 3.
What is MIT-WPU's hostel situation?
MIT-WPU's own site references hostel facilities, but a specific fee figure was not located in this pass and is not stated on this page. Confirm current hostel availability and cost directly with the university admissions office.
📋 Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.