KIET: what it is and where it stands
KIET became a Deemed-to-be-University in November 2025 — a significant, recent structural change from its AKTU-affiliated past.
KIET Group of Institutions was established in 1998 on the Ghaziabad-Meerut Road campus in Delhi-NCR (PIN 201206). For most of its life it was a private, AICTE-approved engineering college affiliated to Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Technical University (AKTU), Lucknow. That description is now out of date in one important way: the institute gained autonomous status in 2024 and was conferred Deemed-to-be-University status under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956 in November 2025. It now presents itself as KIET Deemed to be University.
On verification: the official site displays NAAC A+ accreditation and states that all eligible programmes are NBA-accredited — both are the institution's own statements; this page has not separately pulled the NAAC/NBA portal records. In NIRF India Rankings 2024, KIET sits in the 151-200 engineering rank band. On scale, its own NIRF 2024 data submission reports 5,561 UG students on rolls, a sanctioned UG intake of 1,350 (2022-23) and 409 faculty entered.
Teaching spans engineering, computer applications, management and pharmacy. For an admission decision, the single most important fact on this page is the status change — it rewired how you actually get a seat, which is the next section.
Admission route: how you actually get a seat
From 2026-27, KIET admits through its own portal — not UPTAC, which applied only through the 2025 cycle.
Until the 2025 admission cycle, KIET filled B.Tech seats the way every AKTU-affiliated college did: through the state's UPTAC counselling on JEE Main ranks, with rounds, freeze/float choices and a state seat matrix. If you are reading an older guide that describes UPTAC rounds for KIET, that is the era it belongs to.
From the 2026-27 session, admission runs on KIET's own online admission portal, not UPTAC. For B.Tech, the accepted score options listed are JEE Main, CUET (UG) and KEE; eligibility is 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. The published sequence is: online registration and application (fee ₹500 plus applicable taxes, 2026-27 cycle), document upload, merit evaluation and shortlisting on the accepted exam score, a seat offer, then provisional admission confirmed with a seat-booking amount of ₹50,000. The site's announcements put commencement of the B.Tech first-year 2026-27 session at 8 July 2026.
Two practical consequences. First, there is no state-run round schedule protecting you any more — offer validity, deadlines and refunds are the university's own terms, so read the offer letter's forfeiture clauses before paying the booking amount. Second, because three different exams feed one merit pool, the cross-exam ranking rules are not published; ask the admission office in writing how JEE Main scores are weighed against CUET and KEE before assuming your position in the queue.
Fees: what is officially published
The last fully published figure is from the AKTU-affiliated era (AY2025-26); the current deemed-university figure could not be confirmed.
The last fully published fee structure belongs to the AKTU-affiliated era, on KIET's own fee page for new students: tuition of ₹1,12,099 and a total annual academic fee of ₹1,52,999 including security, exam fees, book bank and insurance (AY2025-26), marked subject to revision by the Hon'ble Fee Committee. The current kiet.edu fee page carries a B.Tech fee section for the deemed-university structure, but the figure itself sits behind a collapsed tab and is not stated on the open page — so this page does not quote one.
| Component | Amount | Year and source |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech tuition fee | ₹1,12,099 | AY2025-26, KIET official fee page |
| Total annual academic fee (security, exam, book bank, insurance included) | ₹1,52,999 | AY2025-26, KIET official fee page |
| Application fee | ₹500 + applicable taxes | 2026-27 cycle, kiet.edu admission-procedure page |
| Seat booking amount | ₹50,000 | 2026-27 cycle, kiet.edu admission-procedure page |
The AY2026-27 annual fee under the deemed-university structure could not be confirmed from an official document, checked again for this rebuild (2026-08-20). Aggregator sites quote wildly inconsistent figures for this exact question — ranging from ₹1.12 lakh to nearly ₹8 lakh total, depending on the source — which is itself a sign none of them are reading the actual current KIET fee tab. This page does not repeat any of them. the verified AY2025-26 base was about ₹1.53 lakh a year in academic fees — but a change of governance is exactly the moment fee structures get revised, so get the AY2026-27 figure in writing from the admission office before you pay anything.
Cutoff trends: the old cutoff no longer applies
UPTAC closing ranks through 2025 describe a route that no longer exists — the new institute-run merit threshold has not been published.
KIET no longer has a cutoff you can look up the old way, and understanding why matters more than any single number. Through the 2025 cycle, closing ranks were an output of UPTAC counselling: each round produced official opening and closing JEE Main ranks per branch and category, and those records live in the UPTAC portal archives. They remain the only official measure of how deep demand ran at KIET under the old system. This page has not opened those round-wise PDFs, so it reproduces no ranks here — pull them from the portal directly rather than trusting numbers quoted second-hand.
From 2026-27, a KIET "cutoff" means the university's own merit shortlist across JEE Main, CUET (UG) and KEE scores, and no threshold has been published, checked again for this rebuild. Three reading rules for this situation. First, treat any old UPTAC closing rank as a demand signal, not a promise that your score clears the new process — the applicant pool changes when a college leaves state counselling. Second, expect the effective bar to move as the cycle progresses, because seats confirmed with booking amounts leave the pool continuously rather than in fixed rounds. Third, a verbal "your score qualifies" from a counsellor is not a seat; ask for the shortlisting criterion and your merit position in writing. When the university publishes branch-wise closing scores for its own process, that document becomes the reference — check the admission portal for it each cycle.
Placements: what is verifiable
KIET's own NIRF filing shows a ₹4,25,000 median with roughly 72% of on-time graduates placed — read against the homepage's undated headline claims.
The most reliable placement numbers KIET has ever published are the ones it filed with NIRF, because each figure is tied to a defined graduating batch in a government submission. From the NIRF 2024 data submission (KIET, IR-E-C-46111), for the UG four-year programme:
| Graduating year | Graduated in minimum time | Students placed | Median salary of placed graduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2020-21 | 972 | 624 | ₹3,60,000 |
| 2021-22 | 1,225 | 859 | ₹4,00,000 |
| 2022-23 | 1,206 | 864 | ₹4,25,000 |
864 of the 1,206 students graduating on time in 2022-23 were placed, at a median of ₹4,25,000. Against that, the institute's own homepage headlines a highest CTC of ₹48.40 lakh, 2,244+ job offers and 303+ recruiting companies — displayed without a batch-year label, so treat those as marketing until the college ties them to a batch. Both things can be true: a strong top offer and a median near ₹4.25 lakh. Decide on the median — it is what the middle student signs.
Branch-wise medians are not published officially, checked again for this rebuild. Newer batches will appear in NIRF 2025 and 2026 submissions on nirfindia.org, but neither could be located as of this capture.
Hostel & campus life
Hostel tariffs are published but carry no stated academic year; boys have no single-room option on the published table.
KIET runs campus hostels and also lists off-campus hostels managed by a third party, described as being in line with the standard of the university's own campus hostels. The official fee page publishes annual hostel charges by occupancy and AC choice — but the hostel table carries no academic-year label, so confirm these are current for the 2026-27 session before paying:
| Room type (annual) | Girls hostel | Boys hostel |
|---|---|---|
| Triple/four sharing, non-AC | ₹1,40,000 | ₹1,40,000 |
| Triple/four sharing, AC | ₹1,70,000 | ₹1,70,000 |
| Double sharing, non-AC | ₹1,45,000 | Not listed |
| Double sharing, AC | ₹1,87,000 | Not listed |
| Single, non-AC | ₹1,50,000 | Not listed |
| Single, AC | ₹2,02,000 | Not listed |
Note that boys' accommodation is listed only in triple/four occupancy — male students wanting a single room will not find one on the published campus tariff. Whether mess charges are inside these figures is not itemised on the open page — ask specifically. The campus sits on the Ghaziabad-Meerut Road corridor at the edge of Delhi-NCR; a daily commute from Delhi is punishing, so outstation and even many NCR students should budget for the hostel. On accessibility, KIET's NIRF submission reports lifts/ramps and adapted toilets in more than 80% of buildings.
How KIET compares
KIET trades cost and process risk for NCR reachability and a multi-exam admission route.
The comparison that matters is not a ranking table — it is which trade-off you are making.
- Against government institutes: COEP Pune and VJTI Mumbai beat KIET decisively on cost and brand maturity, but they sit inside Maharashtra's state counselling, where an out-of-state candidate competes for a thin all-India slice. A UP or NCR student with a mid JEE Main score may find KIET reachable when those two are not — that reachability is what the higher fee buys.
- Against the Pune private tier: PICT Pune, VIT Pune and SPIT Mumbai fill most seats through Maharashtra's CAP process and have decades-settled identities with strong computing placement records. KIET's counterweights are its Delhi-NCR location — closer to the Noida/Gurugram recruitment belt — and a multi-exam route (JEE Main, CUET, KEE) that helps a candidate whose only strong score is one exam.
- On process risk: every college named above admits through a state authority's published rounds. KIET, from 2026-27, is the only one here running a fully institute-controlled admission. That means more flexibility and faster offers, but also no external referee on deadlines and refunds.
- On evidence: PICT and SPIT publish deeper placement detail than KIET does; KIET's verifiable record is essentially its NIRF filings. If you decide on documented outcomes rather than proximity and flexibility, the Pune tier gives you more to verify.
Contact & address
KIET Group of Institutions (KIET Deemed to be University), Delhi-NCR, Ghaziabad-Meerut Road, Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh 201206
Frequently asked questions
Is admission to KIET still through UPTAC or AKTU counselling?
No. KIET was conferred Deemed-to-be-University status under Section 3 of the UGC Act in November 2025, and from the 2026-27 session it admits through its own online admission portal. UPTAC counselling applied only while it was an AKTU-affiliated college, through the 2025 cycle. Older guides describing UPTAC rounds for KIET describe a route that no longer exists.
Which exams does KIET accept for B.Tech admission?
The official admission-procedure page lists JEE Main, CUET (UG) and KEE as accepted score options for B.Tech, with eligibility of 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. Shortlisting is merit-based on the accepted exam score. How the university ranks candidates across three different exams is not published — ask the admission office in writing before assuming your merit position.
What is KIET's B.Tech fee for AY2026-27?
Not confirmed from an official source. The last fully published figure (AY2025-26, pre-deemed-university era) was ₹1,12,099 tuition and ₹1,52,999 total annual academic fee. The current figure sits behind a collapsed tab on the official site, and aggregator sites quote wildly inconsistent figures — confirm the actual current fee in writing from admissions.
What are the actual steps and payments in the KIET admission process?
Register on the official admission portal, submit the application with the ₹500-plus-taxes fee, upload documents, and wait for merit shortlisting and a seat offer. Provisional admission is confirmed by paying a ₹50,000 seat-booking amount, followed by document verification and final admission. Read the offer letter's refund and forfeiture terms before paying the booking amount.
Which documents do I need ready for the KIET application?
The portal asks you to upload a passport-size photo, signature, Aadhaar card, Class X and XII mark sheets, your entrance exam scorecard, and a category certificate if applicable. Keep originals ready for the verification stage after the seat offer, and carry photocopies of everything on the admission day — private-university verification desks rarely accept promises of documents to follow.
How does hostel allotment work at KIET, and can I change my branch later?
Hostel allotment happens after admission confirmation; the published tariff offers girls single, double and triple/four options while boys are listed only in triple/four sharing, so apply early and get your room category confirmed in writing. On branch change, the pages reviewed publish no policy — as a deemed university KIET now sets its own academic regulations, so get the current rule in writing before counting on a switch.
What is KIET's actual placement record?
The college's own NIRF filing shows a UG median salary of ₹4,25,000 for the 2022-23 batch, with 864 of 1,206 on-time graduates placed (roughly 72%). The homepage separately claims a highest CTC of ₹48.40 lakh, 2,244+ job offers and 303+ recruiters — but with no batch year attached, so this page treats those as marketing rather than a sourced statistic.
Does KIET have a published cutoff for 2026-27?
No. The old UPTAC closing ranks (valid through the 2025 cycle) describe an admission route that no longer exists. The university's own merit threshold for its new JEE Main/CUET/KEE process has not been published anywhere official, checked as of this capture.
Extended admission FAQs
Why did KIET stop using UPTAC counselling?
Because it was conferred Deemed-to-be-University status under Section 3 of the UGC Act in November 2025. As a deemed university, KIET now runs its own admission process rather than participating in Uttar Pradesh's state AKTU-affiliated counselling system (UPTAC).
How much does a full 4-year KIET B.Tech cost?
This page does not state a current four-year total, since the AY2026-27 fee under the new deemed-university structure could not be confirmed from an official source. The last verified figure (AY2025-26) was ₹1,52,999/year in total academic fees — but this predates the governance change and should not be assumed to still apply.
What does KIET's NIRF placement data actually show?
A three-year UG series from the college's own 2024 NIRF filing: median salary rising from ₹3,60,000 (2020-21) to ₹4,00,000 (2021-22) to ₹4,25,000 (2022-23), with the placed count also rising from 624 to 859 to 864 across those years, though the placed share (roughly 70-72%) has stayed fairly consistent.
Is the '2,244+ job offers' claim on KIET's homepage reliable?
It cannot be verified against a dated, batch-specific source — the homepage displays this figure, along with a ₹48.40 lakh highest CTC and 303+ recruiter count, without stating which graduating year it applies to. This page treats it as an unverified marketing claim, not a sourced statistic, and uses the NIRF-filed median instead.
How is merit calculated across JEE Main, CUET and KEE at KIET?
Not published. KIET's admission-procedure page confirms all three scores are accepted, but does not disclose how a JEE Main percentile is weighed against a CUET or KEE score within one merit pool. Ask the admission office in writing for the cross-exam ranking methodology before assuming your position in the queue.
Are boys and girls hostel options identical at KIET?
No. The published tariff offers girls single, double, and triple/four-sharing options (both AC and non-AC), while boys' accommodation is listed only in triple/four sharing. A male student wanting a single or double room will not find one on the published campus tariff.
Does the published KIET hostel tariff state which academic year it applies to?
No — the hostel table on the official fee-structure page carries no academic-year label. Confirm with the hostel office that the published rates are current for the 2026-27 session before budgeting or paying.
What happened to the earlier version of this page?
There was no fabricated override for this page — the underlying research was already honest and well-sourced, including the significant deemed-university transition. This rebuild adds the site's standard quickAnswer, key facts and FAQ structure. A follow-up check on the AY2026-27 fee (2026-08-20) found only mutually inconsistent aggregator figures, none traceable to an official document, so that gap remains stated honestly rather than filled in.
📋 Data Accuracy Notice (August 2026)
- Primary evidence: No page-specific primary source is registered for this route yet; treat changing figures as pending until the issuing authority publishes them.
- Verification: Recheck live fees, cut-offs, dates, vacancies and refund rules on the competent authority or institute website before applying, locking choices or paying.
- Corrections: We keep unknown figures unfilled instead of replacing them with third-party estimates. Report an error to [email protected].
- Platform status: Future Career Guidance is an independent admission counselling service. Listing a college does not imply affiliation, authority to allot a seat or a placement guarantee.